Fabulous French Loaves Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
I've tried many recipes and this one is the best tasting and never fails me, always comes out perfect. Be sure to mix your dry ingredients first, then add the wet. The half cup water for your yeast should be warm and the two cups water for your mix should be cool (both from tap water temperatures). From the six cups of flour, reserve 1 cup on the side from your dough mixture. You're going to mix it mack in when kneading the bread. If you don.t have a pizza stone, turn over a cookie sheet and place parchment paper over it. The recipe works great with regular flour too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leialohadm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
Really enjoyed this recipe. I let my bread hook on my kitchenaid do all the work as I added the flour and then had the machine knead the bread. Bread is very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
The shape of this bread is a little "misleading." It appears as though it is a baguette but, it is really a soft white type of bread. I didn't think it had a whole lot of flavor, and strangely tasted "doughy," even though it rose and baked up well. I wasn't sure why either, but the dough to work with was really sticky! I had to add between 1/2-3/4 of a cup more flour just to make it workable. After talking to someone else who made it I was told they had the same problem, and added at least that much flour or more. I have never had to add that much flour to a bread dough recipe. The bread looked great, just like the picture, but just had too much of an odd "raw dough taste" making it inedible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2011
This bread was sooo easy & good!!! I was making from scratch meat sauce for my spaghetti dinner & realized I forgot to pick up a loaf of french bread so I found this & oh boy was it good!! The house smelt wonderful too while it baked! I cut the recipe in half & made exactly as written except I didn't have cornmeal (realized that when it was too late) So I sprinkled the baking pan with flour instead & it worked fine. I also sprayed some olive oil pam on the loaf instead of the egg white & then sprinkled parm cheese on top since I didn't have sesame seeds. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nrsejessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
Fabulous is the perfect word to describe this! First of all, this was my first time making french bread and this was the easiest dough I've ever dealt with! For the first time I didn't have to add more flour. I found the recipe to be perfect as is except for the cooking time. This may be because I only had one loaf in the oven, rather than two, but I took mine out at 25 minutes and it was already on its way to being slightly overdone (saved it in the knick of time!). So keep an eye on it, especially if you half the recipe. But other than that, it was perfect, especially the crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
LIke everyone else, sooo goood! I ise the dough hook on my kitchen aid mixer on low for 6 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
I've passed this recipe onto many friends. Turns out perfect everytime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Junction City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
Yay! I made this bread to go with a pasta dish for dinner and it was very easy to put together. I did have to add a bit more flour in order to handle the dough. Perhaps because I used all purpose flour instead of bread flour. Whatever, the bread turned out beautifully, was delicious dipped in homemade Italian dressing and received rave reviews from my husband. Made my meal even more special. :c) Thanks Liz, I won't be spending any more money at the grocery store bakery for French bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
Always a pleaser. Have been using this recipe for years and just haven't gotten around to reviewing. My Kitchen Aid Mixer broke, so I've been using a half recipe in the food processor. Still wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saginaw, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
I have been trying different breads lately and this is the first that has come out light and not heavy as a rock. The recipe is very easy and could have easily given me 3 loafs of bread. I used honey in place of sugar and olive oil instead of veggie oil. This was fabulous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 255) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make French Baguettes

You really can make authentic French baguettes from scratch. See how it's done!

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States