Fabulous French Loaves Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
I have been on a quest for the best french bread recipe this past month, and this one nails it. I'm not sure what made it different - the oil, which wasn't a part of some other recipes? The directions on how to roll it out? All I know is that this is delicious, with just the kind of crust I've been looking for. The search is over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
After looking at many reviews I had decided to try Liz's french bread recipe. I am so happy that I did (the family too...)! I followed her directions exactly as written. When the bread came out of the oven, it was a beautiful golden brown, crispy on the outside, soft and chewy on the inside. A wonderful recipe that is definitely a keeper! Thank you Liz!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
My bread is pretty good but I definitely should have gone with my gut and pulled them out at 25 minutes instead of letting it go until 30. My bread got a little bit past golden brown and has a tough crust that i'm not crazy about. I can't even imagine if I had let it go any longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
Great recipe for beginners!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dover, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Awesome! I added just a little more sugar and salt than was called for, and sprinkled a little kosher salt on top. My family loves it. I make it about once a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
I've tried many recipes and this one is the best tasting and never fails me, always comes out perfect. Be sure to mix your dry ingredients first, then add the wet. The half cup water for your yeast should be warm and the two cups water for your mix should be cool (both from tap water temperatures). From the six cups of flour, reserve 1 cup on the side from your dough mixture. You're going to mix it mack in when kneading the bread. If you don.t have a pizza stone, turn over a cookie sheet and place parchment paper over it. The recipe works great with regular flour too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leialohadm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
Really enjoyed this recipe. I let my bread hook on my kitchenaid do all the work as I added the flour and then had the machine knead the bread. Bread is very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
The shape of this bread is a little "misleading." It appears as though it is a baguette but, it is really a soft white type of bread. I didn't think it had a whole lot of flavor, and strangely tasted "doughy," even though it rose and baked up well. I wasn't sure why either, but the dough to work with was really sticky! I had to add between 1/2-3/4 of a cup more flour just to make it workable. After talking to someone else who made it I was told they had the same problem, and added at least that much flour or more. I have never had to add that much flour to a bread dough recipe. The bread looked great, just like the picture, but just had too much of an odd "raw dough taste" making it inedible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2011
This bread was sooo easy & good!!! I was making from scratch meat sauce for my spaghetti dinner & realized I forgot to pick up a loaf of french bread so I found this & oh boy was it good!! The house smelt wonderful too while it baked! I cut the recipe in half & made exactly as written except I didn't have cornmeal (realized that when it was too late) So I sprinkled the baking pan with flour instead & it worked fine. I also sprayed some olive oil pam on the loaf instead of the egg white & then sprinkled parm cheese on top since I didn't have sesame seeds. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nrsejessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
Fabulous is the perfect word to describe this! First of all, this was my first time making french bread and this was the easiest dough I've ever dealt with! For the first time I didn't have to add more flour. I found the recipe to be perfect as is except for the cooking time. This may be because I only had one loaf in the oven, rather than two, but I took mine out at 25 minutes and it was already on its way to being slightly overdone (saved it in the knick of time!). So keep an eye on it, especially if you half the recipe. But other than that, it was perfect, especially the crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 250) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make French Baguettes

You really can make authentic French baguettes from scratch. See how it's done!

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

French Baguettes

A bread machine makes quick work of the dough for these delicious baguettes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States