Fabulous French Loaves Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 2, 2008
This has to be the most user friendly bread recipe ever. I've made it in the form of French bread loaves, as well as a white sandwich bread. I put the dough in bread pans for the second rise, and let it go just above the edge. Baked it at 350 for 25 minutes and it was perfect. Nice texture, very soft and moist. I like the taste and texture better than any standard white bread recipe that I've tried before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lapeer, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
For me this turned out to be crusty on the outside and unbaked pizza dough on the inside!!! I still dont know what I did wrong!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Schenectady, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nandabear
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
Delicious french bread! We devoured the first loaf and used the second one to make bread pudding. This recipe is a keeper. I omitted the sesame seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nandabear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Recife, Pernambuco, Brazil
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
Yummy! I used olive oil instead of veggie oil, and I didn't do the egg wash and sesame seeds. I didn't have cornmeal, but I did use some wheat germ instead. I halved the recipe and it made one beautiful nice sized loaf. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
I have made this bread several times, and it is very good. It is nice and crusty, and soft inside. We really enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
This was my first time baking bread though, so it wasn't perfect. I halved the recipe, and I baked it for 30 minutes at 400 degrees and it was close to burning. The bread came out soft and fluffy inside though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
Absolutely the best french bread. No more buying it at the grocery store. So easy and delicious. I accidentally cooked it at 450 degrees for 18 minutes and it turned out perfect. I also halved the recipe and made one huge loaf. I did find the dough to be a little sticky, so I rolled the dough out on wax paper sprayed with Pam. It didn't stick at all and rolled up perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eptrox

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Castle, Indiana, USA
Living In: Saluda, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
Great and simple recipe. We use these loaves for our giant sub sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: White Lake, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
I think this is a pretty good recipe, but my bread was way too risen. I used quick-rise yeast and I think that the recipe should be made with "normal" yeast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
Great bread recipe! Very tasty and eye appealing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danielson, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 250) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make French Baguettes

You really can make authentic French baguettes from scratch. See how it's done!

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

French Baguettes

A bread machine makes quick work of the dough for these delicious baguettes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States