Fabulous French Loaves Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
Not sure if anyone has already stated a definitive hypothesis, but I'm pretty sure that the texture problems (large crumb) are due to All Recipe's modification of the recipe. If you've read the submitter's review that explains the original instructions, the dough is supposed to be stirred over various periods of an hour. However, as I just noticed when I prepared the dough, the All Recipes version calls for the dough to be kneaded which requires a great deal more flour. This is why people are complaining about sticky dough and the need for 1-2 cups extra flour than is called for in the ingredient list. The "stick" problem wouldn't be a factor if you just had to stir as opposed to knead. Now, I am making the dough today for sub-style sandwiches, so I didn't mind if the texture was more dense. Thus, I chose to prepare it by kneading this time. The next time I am looking for a more "authentic" French bread, I will try the original method and update my findings here! Test this out and see if I'm right! Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GreenMachine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
Moist, a little dense, but soft! I substituted warm milk for the 2 cups water. Also, be sure to use more sugar and salt in this recipe. I think next time, I'll make it as a normal sandwich loaf, the texture is perfect for sandwiches. Also, be very wary of the baking time... mine was done perfectly in 19mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MARIAM
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
incredible! It's amazing to see how this little bit of dough makes a huge quantity of bread! This bread rises so much that you end up falling in love with it like if it were a child you have raised! tastes amazing, and my dad even had a hard time believing I used a normal oven to make it. Tastes great and looks very professional. Thank you so much for this amazing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
This is very good. Made one loaf for the breakfast sausage bread on the site and then made the other loaf as directed for a dinner for a friend. So didn't try it as directed, but very good bread in the sausage bread. I didn't do an egg wash--just a wash of water, and it was really brown. Even took it out 7 min earlier, so I would recommend you watch and base it more on your oven. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
WOW..used my bread machine on dough cycle, fast and easy. Brushed bread with cold H20 while baking, turned out nice and crispy! BEST FRENCH BREAD EVER FOR ME, thanks so much it is very much a keeper for me!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2008
This has to be the most user friendly bread recipe ever. I've made it in the form of French bread loaves, as well as a white sandwich bread. I put the dough in bread pans for the second rise, and let it go just above the edge. Baked it at 350 for 25 minutes and it was perfect. Nice texture, very soft and moist. I like the taste and texture better than any standard white bread recipe that I've tried before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lapeer, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
For me this turned out to be crusty on the outside and unbaked pizza dough on the inside!!! I still dont know what I did wrong!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Schenectady, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nandabear
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
Delicious french bread! We devoured the first loaf and used the second one to make bread pudding. This recipe is a keeper. I omitted the sesame seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nandabear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Recife, Pernambuco, Brazil
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
Yummy! I used olive oil instead of veggie oil, and I didn't do the egg wash and sesame seeds. I didn't have cornmeal, but I did use some wheat germ instead. I halved the recipe and it made one beautiful nice sized loaf. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
I have made this bread several times, and it is very good. It is nice and crusty, and soft inside. We really enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 255) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make French Baguettes

You really can make authentic French baguettes from scratch. See how it's done!

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States