Fabulous Foolproof Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
I have been making Lasagna this way for 25 years using reg. Lasagna noodles. The recipe I have calls for Cottage Cheese instead of the ricotta cheese, it taste pretty good and so easy! As the other person says you need to cover the noodles with sauce or they will be hard. You can add mushrooms, pepperoni or just have fun with this. what do you like in your Lasagne?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra Zapp Winningham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
Like one of the other reviewers, I used 4 noodles per layer as a norm; and did so here. Typically, I make meatless Lasagna (I sub Portabellas, Eggplants, or Asparagus), however, did grind a Pork Shoulder with herbs and Spices to make an Italian Sausage... it was good. I did, however, sub a Putanesca for the Spaghetti Sauce in a jar. I like things fresh, and want to know where they came from. This was my 1st time using "no boil noodles", a lot less work; not bad. Just a suggestion for other readers, try experimenting with White Pepper. In Italian Cooking, depending on the region, Red Pepper has a place to add zest and zip. Try White Pepper, and notice the Charismatic Charm brought on by the new sensations of where you experience the notes. Laizze Les Bon Temps Rouler!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
A rare event was having all the ingredients on hand including the ricotta which hubby mistakenly purchased instead of the "cottage cheese" which was on his grocery list. Lucky us! Then, something to feed 3 starving kids after an afternoon of swimming lessons and pool cavorting, this was an answer to a prayer. Enough leftover for a nice serving for Hubby's lunch the next day. Fast, easy, and delicious. Can't ask for more. Many thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail Cobile

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
A good basic lasagna recipe but, as other readers suggested, it could stand some more sauce. Also, I find it is better to use fresh lasagna (available in the dairy counter) rather than dry. They cook more quickly and do not soak up as much sauce. Better tasting too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
Good basic lasagna recipe. Definitely use more sauce than suggested - I usually use at least 2 jars. A hint when using no-boil noodles to keep them from being crunchy or gummy: coat the bottom of the pan with sauce BEFORE you lay the noodles in the pan. I also mix the sausage (or beef or turkey) in with the sauce and always place the sauce on the noodle layer. It's the sauce that gets absorbed by the noodles and cooks them (hence why you need plenty of sauce).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
504 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
Ok, you won't want to believe this..i didn't either until I tried it myself. Use any of your fav lasagna noodles. They do NOT have to be labeled no-boil. I use any i want and you don't have to use xtra sauce -- they'll be cooked. Try it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
173 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
My family loved the foolproof lasagna. The only thing I had trouble with was my noodles didn't get done so I had to put it back in the oven for about 20 minutes more, but it was tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kannapolis, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
Spices were too funky - hubby didn't like it at all. Noodles just wouldn't cook even though I used plenty of sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Litchfield, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
My family loved it! Again added a little something to it! Cooked the noodles first just because I've had no luck with the no boil type. Also I added about 4 cloves of minced garlic to the meat as it browned for flavor. I added 1 box of thawed frozed spinach squeezed dry on top of one layer of ricotta (just to sneak in vitamins). I ended up using a bottle and a half of marinara sauce and extra mozzarrella. All in all very yummy and easy. Made enough for many left overs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
I made a few changes...I cooked the italian sausage with a chopped onion and about 2 garlic cloves. I also used about twice as much sauce as the recipe called for. I also added 2 layers of mushrooms for my own personal taste. It tasted great, perfect amount of cheese and sauce. The reason I rate this is a 4 is because the "no-boil" noodles didn't taste quite the same as boiled noodles. The cooked fine but the texture was a little gummy. Next time I'll boil regular noodles and it will deserve a 5!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Deep Dish Lasagna

A crowd-pleasing lasagna with layers of cheese, sausage, spinach, and sauce.

Creamy Chicken Lasagna

Chicken and cream cheese star in this deliciously unique lasagna.

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States