Fabulous Foolproof Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
A rare event was having all the ingredients on hand including the ricotta which hubby mistakenly purchased instead of the "cottage cheese" which was on his grocery list. Lucky us! Then, something to feed 3 starving kids after an afternoon of swimming lessons and pool cavorting, this was an answer to a prayer. Enough leftover for a nice serving for Hubby's lunch the next day. Fast, easy, and delicious. Can't ask for more. Many thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail Cobile

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
A good basic lasagna recipe but, as other readers suggested, it could stand some more sauce. Also, I find it is better to use fresh lasagna (available in the dairy counter) rather than dry. They cook more quickly and do not soak up as much sauce. Better tasting too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
Good basic lasagna recipe. Definitely use more sauce than suggested - I usually use at least 2 jars. A hint when using no-boil noodles to keep them from being crunchy or gummy: coat the bottom of the pan with sauce BEFORE you lay the noodles in the pan. I also mix the sausage (or beef or turkey) in with the sauce and always place the sauce on the noodle layer. It's the sauce that gets absorbed by the noodles and cooks them (hence why you need plenty of sauce).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
503 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
Ok, you won't want to believe this..i didn't either until I tried it myself. Use any of your fav lasagna noodles. They do NOT have to be labeled no-boil. I use any i want and you don't have to use xtra sauce -- they'll be cooked. Try it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
170 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
My family loved the foolproof lasagna. The only thing I had trouble with was my noodles didn't get done so I had to put it back in the oven for about 20 minutes more, but it was tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kannapolis, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
Spices were too funky - hubby didn't like it at all. Noodles just wouldn't cook even though I used plenty of sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Litchfield, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
My family loved it! Again added a little something to it! Cooked the noodles first just because I've had no luck with the no boil type. Also I added about 4 cloves of minced garlic to the meat as it browned for flavor. I added 1 box of thawed frozed spinach squeezed dry on top of one layer of ricotta (just to sneak in vitamins). I ended up using a bottle and a half of marinara sauce and extra mozzarrella. All in all very yummy and easy. Made enough for many left overs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
I made a few changes...I cooked the italian sausage with a chopped onion and about 2 garlic cloves. I also used about twice as much sauce as the recipe called for. I also added 2 layers of mushrooms for my own personal taste. It tasted great, perfect amount of cheese and sauce. The reason I rate this is a 4 is because the "no-boil" noodles didn't taste quite the same as boiled noodles. The cooked fine but the texture was a little gummy. Next time I'll boil regular noodles and it will deserve a 5!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
Great lasagna recipe. I made a double batch - froze one and cooked the other. Not runny like most frozen lasagnas from the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie A.
Living In: Firestone, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MOLLE888
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
Just like the title states, this lasagna is fabulous and foolproof! I added more cheese, more sauce, and made a layer of fresh spinach in the center. I didn't have any problems with the no-boil noodles... they were perfect! I baked mine a bit longer (45 minutes with foil, 15 without).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Deep Dish Lasagna

A crowd-pleasing lasagna with layers of cheese, sausage, spinach, and sauce.

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

Creamy Chicken Lasagna

Chicken and cream cheese star in this deliciously unique lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States