Fabulous Colcannon (Mashed Potatoes and Cabbage) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
I love to make this. It's so simple
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leftoverQueen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
Made this using leftover corned beef, fried cabbage and mashed potatoes. Added a pinch of red pepper and topped with shredded sharp cheddar. We enjoyed the original recipe as well as the improvised version. A handy go-to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
We really enjoyed this as part of our New Years dinner. The only changes I made were to omit the mayonnaise (we just don't care that much for mayo), added a little more than 1/4 teaspoon of cayenne pepper, added about 1/2 teaspoon of seasoned salt to the cabbage mixture, and omitted the ham. Everyone thought it was great and my boyfriend asked me to make it again--very soon. Thank you for another great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
I just made this for dinner tonight and was very happy with it. I probably didn't follow the recipe directions to a T (I read it then just go by memory) and I left out the cayenne pepper because my kids won't touch anything spicy in any way. Otherwise I used all the same ingredients and it was very tasty! I salted my water when boiling the potatoes and salted my cabbage a bit when adding it to the pan and it definitely was not bland at all. My kids are already begging for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny Wilbers

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
I thought this was very tasty. I didn't have ham, so just used bacon, but it was very good without it. The cayenne pepper is a plus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
This a family favorite. I do shred some cheddar to sprinkle on top, per another review's suggestion. Love this with our home grown caraflex cabbage, but with plain old grocery store stuff it is still yummy comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
We think this is the bomb! A great mix of flavors and a meal in one dish - no need for anything else. Did not vary anything except for the use Greek Yogurt in place of mayo and a little more than half a pack of pre-shredded cabbage (will use the whole package next time). Yummmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grampnana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
Tried this tonight and made it to specs except drained bacon onion, reserving drippings and stir fried the cabbage instead.It was a hit! Will be making again though I might add more cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty Dickson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orange, Texas, USA
Living In: North Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
I have made this tonight for dinner for family and friends. I cooked the spuds on the cook top as the 1st part of this recipe. All the other cooking I did in the microwave. Faster, easier and less time involved. This tasted great. Will make this often. Thank you Ashley for what will become a favourate. Spuds don't need to be boring, just really tasty like this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clare

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Yum! Not only is this cheap to make, it's equally easy to throw together and surprisingly filling too. Although fine as is, I do have one suggestion for improvement. Instead of slicing your cabbage, I suggest you chop it. Both my hubs and I agree that chopped or finely shredded cabbage (i.e. the pre-packaged stuff) would be a better choice for this dish. It would cook quicker (as is, my cabbage was a *tad* crunchy - and I even cooked it longer than directed) and incorporate MUCH better with the potatoes. I guess this is a matter of preference, but it is a definite must for my hubs and I. And for the one reviewer who thought this was bland... Bah! The key is s&p and LOTS of it. :) It's a shame this only has three reviews. Hopefully others will follow suit and soon discover this wonderful gem and add their positive comments for others to see! Thanks for sharing your recipe, Ashley! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States