Fabulous Cilantro Pesto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
I thought it was great! I would never have thought the combination of ingredients would blend so nicely, but they did. Very rich, what with all the olive oil, so you don't need much more for a filling meal. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Henninger

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
The idea for this recipe is great but the flavor profile of the original is a little off. I tweaked - as most folks did - by using traditional pine nuts, and by using Newman's Own Italian dressing, which has some cheese in it already, and is made with Olive Oil. I supplemented a bit of extra olive oil and used 4, not 5 cloves of garlic. It actually turned out really well! I'm looking forward to grilled chicken and some fresh red pepper with it for dinner tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
tastes fantastic. everyone loved it. used the lemon instead of vinegar. Next time I will maybe double up to make more
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
This was good. I wasn't sure what to expect since cilantro has such a strong flavor, but I liked it and would make it again. I used lime juice (not vinegar or lemon juice) and liked what it added to the flavor. I did not warm it up in a saucepan; rather I just tossed it raw into the pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
I used black walnuts instead of the regular ones I normally keep around. Did not toast them. They add a special flavor that was a knockout! Did not have white wine vinegar so added Bragg's instead. Worked fine. Next time, I will definitely add lime juice. This recipe has me loving cilantro since I have never been fond of it. Will use it whenever I can on beef, chicken, pasta, or just as a dip with blue corn chips. It is a GRAND SLAM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
I really liked it but it was a touch too spicy for the kids. Will definitely make it again, though. Subbed malt vinegar for white vinegar. Edit: I have made this several times now. I sometimes sub any dark leafy green on hand for the cilantro. Different flavor, but still wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
I think there is too much garlic. I decided to chop the ingredients (not use food processor) and not warm the pesto. Was pretty delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
Followed the recipe exactly. Since the recipe called for walnuts or pecans and I had both, I used both! I didn't heat the pesto since it was fresh made, room temperature and going on hot pasta. I really wonder if cilantro has a stronger taste at different times of year because I got very little cilantro taste from this. I honestly think given a blind taste test I wouldn't have been able to identify it. I liked the addition of the vinegar - it gave it some zip! I'm anxious to try this again after the pesto sits for a day. Thanks!! ***Update: I made this for the second time and used all walnuts and romano cheese. I added the full amount of cayenne which was too much. On some leftover pasta for lunch it was good but I'm still not convinced that I like pesto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
Great recipe! The only change I made was to omit the cilantro and use fresh basil instead! I Hate Cilantro!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Used on Snapper en pappillote and added to my side dish of couscous. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pesto

Watch how to make this top-rated pesto recipe.

Potato Pesto and Feta Pizza

See how to make a pesto and potato pizza.

Pesto Chicken Penne Casserole

A creamy, one-pan chicken pasta with Alfredo and pesto sauces.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States