Fabulous Cilantro Pesto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
This was good. I wasn't sure what to expect since cilantro has such a strong flavor, but I liked it and would make it again. I used lime juice (not vinegar or lemon juice) and liked what it added to the flavor. I did not warm it up in a saucepan; rather I just tossed it raw into the pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
I used black walnuts instead of the regular ones I normally keep around. Did not toast them. They add a special flavor that was a knockout! Did not have white wine vinegar so added Bragg's instead. Worked fine. Next time, I will definitely add lime juice. This recipe has me loving cilantro since I have never been fond of it. Will use it whenever I can on beef, chicken, pasta, or just as a dip with blue corn chips. It is a GRAND SLAM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
I really liked it but it was a touch too spicy for the kids. Will definitely make it again, though. Subbed malt vinegar for white vinegar. Edit: I have made this several times now. I sometimes sub any dark leafy green on hand for the cilantro. Different flavor, but still wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
I think there is too much garlic. I decided to chop the ingredients (not use food processor) and not warm the pesto. Was pretty delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
Followed the recipe exactly. Since the recipe called for walnuts or pecans and I had both, I used both! I didn't heat the pesto since it was fresh made, room temperature and going on hot pasta. I really wonder if cilantro has a stronger taste at different times of year because I got very little cilantro taste from this. I honestly think given a blind taste test I wouldn't have been able to identify it. I liked the addition of the vinegar - it gave it some zip! I'm anxious to try this again after the pesto sits for a day. Thanks!! ***Update: I made this for the second time and used all walnuts and romano cheese. I added the full amount of cayenne which was too much. On some leftover pasta for lunch it was good but I'm still not convinced that I like pesto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
Great recipe! The only change I made was to omit the cilantro and use fresh basil instead! I Hate Cilantro!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Used on Snapper en pappillote and added to my side dish of couscous. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
This is fabulous! I used pecans and lemon juice instead of vinegar. The family, especially my 10 month old, loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
Delicious and a great use for left over cilantro!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
This was perfect!If you love cilantro,make this.I use it on sandwhiches instead of mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pesto

Watch how to make this top-rated pesto recipe.

Potato Pesto and Feta Pizza

See how to make a pesto and potato pizza.

Pesto Chicken Penne Casserole

A creamy, one-pan chicken pasta with Alfredo and pesto sauces.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States