Fabulous Cilantro Pesto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Sarah Stone
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
This may be deserving of a five, but only after some changes are made....what's up w/ the vinegar, walnuts, and cayenne?! Hubby loves cilantro, and so I remade it and I chose to change the recipe. I used 2 cups cilantro, 1/4 cup of roasted pinenuts, 1/4 cup of parmesan cheese, 2 tsp of salt, 2 tsp of black pepper, 1 tsp minced garlic, and 6 Tbsp olive oil. All I can say is wow...what a kick!!! Much better!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
286 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2004
Wow! This was really good! The only thing I substituted was pine nuts instead of the other nuts. Also the left overs actually tasted better the next day- I think I will make the pesto again a day ahead of time so the flavors will blend better. Also there is no need to pick the leaves off the cilantro- just wash- squeeze out the water-cut the ends off, then cut in half and add to the blender- I learned that from making Amy's Cilantro Sauce(on this site)so many times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2003
I used this recipe to create a quick and easy appetizer I had at a party a few years ago. Spread one package of cream cheese on a plate and then spread it with the cilantro pesto. Serve with tortilla chips or crackers. I used more cilantro than called for in this recipe - almost double, I think. Also added some lime juice which gave a great, bright burst of flavor. Don't really remember how much, but maybe 1-2 T?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
This was great! To adjust to personal taste: I use only 2 cloves of garlic, which was plenty. 1/3 c. of parmesan, 1/2 tsp. black pepper, 1 tbs. lemon juice and, 1/3 c. Brazilian nuts. Awesome pesto!...Next time, I’d double recipe so I can freeze some in an ice-cube tray for quick meals. Thank you for sharing and for some many helpful reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Pembroke Pines, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2005
Excellent! I added some water as a replacement for half the oil. The flavors were definitely better the second day. I'd recommend preparing the sauce the night before to give the flavors a chance to meld.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
I was not expecting much from this, but it was very good! I often buy fresh cilantro to use a small amount for a recipe, and it's frustrating trying to find a way to use up the rest. This is a tasty and easy way to use it up. I may try some other cilantro pesto recipes as well, but the nice thing about this one is that you probably have all the ingredients on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
read previous reviews so subbed lemon juice for vinegar. Had pine nuts after making basil pesto, so toasted them & used them instead. Also, used about a 1/4t crushed red pepper instead of cayenne...I don't like really hot, just a zing. Since I was washing the cilantro as I was adding it to the blender, putting all the liquids in to begin w/, it got a little water & mixed up very nicely. Let it sit in fridge overnite & used on pasta w/ some feta...yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIANA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA
Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2006
We loved this! We used it first as a sauce with grilled chicken breasts, and used the leftovers as a pasta sauce. My husband liked it so much, he called his mother and told her how great it was! Victory!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
This is excellent! I followed the recipe as far as the pesto goes but then decided to add chicken. I cooked the boneless chicken breast with garlic, red onions, and yellow peppers. MMMM! My guest thoroughly enjoyed it and I plan to pass this one on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
Terrific on pasta. A very good alternative to basil based pestos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gales Ferry, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pesto

Watch how to make this top-rated pesto recipe.

Potato Pesto and Feta Pizza

See how to make a pesto and potato pizza.

Pesto Chicken Penne Casserole

A creamy, one-pan chicken pasta with Alfredo and pesto sauces.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States