Fabulous Cilantro Pesto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
Well I had high hopes for this but it was WAY too hot for us. My son wouldn't eat it and my husband just didn't like the flavors. I thought it was OK and I liked that it had a very fresh taste to it. We added chicken to make it a meal. Not one I'll make again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
This dish was yummy and very easy to make! I used pine nuts and lime juice instead of the white wine vinegar. For the pasta I used fresh cheese tortellini. Will definitely make again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
I used lime juice instead of white wine vinegar. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Petrika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Gabriel, California, USA
Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
I was honestly blown away by this recipe. I wasn't sure if I would like the cilantro but it came out very very nicely. I actually didn't have any nuts (something I realized only after I had put everything else together) but it still tasted great. I also added some pan fried shrimp. The only change I would make is next time I think I would wait until I stirred the noodles in with the sauce to add the parmesan because when it melted the cilantro clumped all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
So good. I have to make this all the time from now on, because I'm addicted. I was kind of teetering on the edge of cilantro acceptance, and this recipe gave me the shove I needed. The taste of the cilantro wasn't overpowering like I thought it might be. All of the proportions were perfect; it wasn't too oily, too garlicky, or too..um, cilantro-y. The only thing I tweaked was the cayenne. I didn't have any, so I stuck some crushed red pepper flakes in the magic bullet and processed until they were mostly powdery. I think that probably made it slightly spicier than it would've been if I'd used cayenne, but some reviewers said it needed extra spice anyway, so hey! It all worked out, and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Pasadena, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
This is a very nice recipe. I know someone commented on the use of pine nuts versus walnuts or pecans, in my home I rarely have pine nuts on hand, however I always have walnuts and or pecans. I always appreciate ease of use when it comes to a recipe. I used an Italian dressing in place of the white wine vinegar and tossed some cooked shrimp in at the end. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NurseJanice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
I only made the pesto as I wanted to serve it on ahi tuna. It has a great flavor but I won't heat it up on the stove again. Although I stirred it constantly, the mixture separated from the oil. Tip to the reviewer who said it came out bitter: walnuts can be bitter and I recommend using pecans instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA
Living In: Ruidoso, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
I love cilantro and pasta, so this sounded great. Tasting as I blended, I added additional lime juice and cayenne. That is because I love tartness and fire. Very good. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
This was realy good. I used 8 oz. of pasta instead of 16 and added a couple chopped, sauteed chicken tenders to make it a main-dish meal. I tasted the pesto before adding it to the pasta and it was somewhat bitter, so I was worried, but after being mixed into the pasta and adding the chicken, it tasted great and not bitter at all. I used lime juice instead of vinegar, and 3 cloves of garlic. Also used 1/4 plus 1 TBS. of quality olive oil. I used whole wheat penne. Served with a veggie for a simple and tasty dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
Very good, I used this recipe with left over cilantro from another dish. We had it on tilapia, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pleasant Lake, Indiana, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pesto

Watch how to make this top-rated pesto recipe.

Potato Pesto and Feta Pizza

See how to make a pesto and potato pizza.

Pesto Chicken Penne Casserole

A creamy, one-pan chicken pasta with Alfredo and pesto sauces.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States