Fabulous Cilantro Pesto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
OOOHHH this is soooo good!!! I had a bumper crop of Cilantro this year and didn't know what to do with it all....well this was the perfect solution!!! BTW- this is easy to freeze and enjoy throughout the winter months!!! I love this on anything you usually use cilanto & oil on....I love it on fish, in dressings/vinagerettes. On grilled steak!!!! or even just on a good hearty bread!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Wooster, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
This is excellent! I followed the recipe as far as the pesto goes but then decided to add chicken. I cooked the boneless chicken breast with garlic, red onions, and yellow peppers. MMMM! My guest thoroughly enjoyed it and I plan to pass this one on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
With rice wine vinegar, salt & pepper and a last minute addition of a jalapeno-we had a great meal. I took jumbo shrimp and sauteed in a little of the pre-vinegared pesto mix. Toasted pecans, some good quality pec romano and lots of olive oil made the bowties exciting with a light coating of pesto. Plopped a few shrimp on each plate and served with a light, sweet white. Tastyness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
This was good while concentrated, but somehow too mild once we added it to pasta with some oil. I let it sit for 2 nights before we used it, so the flavors would meld. I added some red pepper flakes. I'm glad we tried it, and we have some left, but I don't think I'd make it again (and we're cilantro lovers!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wayne, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
New favorite! Just plain wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pati

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
Fabulas doesn't even begin to describe this! It's amazing, it's heaven! My fiance & I loved this dish soooo much! I have a magic bullet & that worked great to blend the pesto sauce. I followed the recipe exactly but I added Chicken which was really yummy! I'm so makeing this over & over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FancyNancy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: May 17, 2008
This is excellent, easy, and quick. The cayenne gives it a nice bite. I forgot the olive oil and was wondering why it was so clumpy, well, there's the answer. Don't be like me. Put in the olive oil. Amazingly enough, we ran out of parmesan cheese so I subbed mozzarella and used almonds instead of pecans or walnuts. Very good taste, with the cilantro flavor coming through nicely. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
I adore cilantro and usually use it to excess, but I just had to fiddle so much with this recipe to get a flavor my husband or I would eat. I did love the idea of it, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristen m

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
Ok, I made this before the way it's printed here and it was awesome. So I had cilantro and wanted to make it again but didn't have all the stuff, so I got creative. I used raw almonds and swiss instead of walnuts and parmesan, and ground red pepper instead of cayenne (subtler, to fit the subtler nuts and cheese), and lemon juice for vinegar. It was interesting. Just as good I think, and it had this unique "clean" quality to the taste. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBORG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
Incredible recipe! I left out the vinegar (seemed weird) and the cheese (I'm vegan), but would HIGHLY recommend keeping the walnuts. Walnuts are one of the Super Foods and this is a great way to get some into your diet, plus they add a wonderfully earthy taste to the sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smallu

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pesto

Watch how to make this top-rated pesto recipe.

Potato Pesto and Feta Pizza

See how to make a pesto and potato pizza.

Pesto Chicken Penne Casserole

A creamy, one-pan chicken pasta with Alfredo and pesto sauces.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States