Fabulous Cilantro Pesto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
very good but doesn't taste much like cilantro at all. the garlic takes the lead in the taste of this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
A nice change for pesto. I wasn't sure about the combination of cilantro and parm. cheese and walnuts, but it actually works. I used whole wheat pasta, omitted the pepper, added a few tablespoons of lime juice and used less olive oil for a chunkier pesto. Just be careful not to use too much cilantro, or else it becomes bitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
This was allright. I guess I prefer classic basil pesto.... Don't get me wrong... this was good, just not great (or something I'd make again). My fiance agrees. We both felt that the end product was terribly dry (this recipe calls for waaay too much pasta, IMHO). Additionally, I felt that the cayenne was out of place. While I like the kick it imparted, I found it unnecessary and a tad odd for my liking. Tossed with whole wheat penne, this was an average, yet filling meal. I must admit, this was quite easy to prepare and economical to boot (cilantro is REALLY cheap compared to basil). I'm glad I tried this, but will stick to the "real" thing from now on. Thanks for sharing your unique idea though, Gena :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
I like the amount of garlic, but I'm a garlic lover (and used small cloves). I didn't have any nuts, so I just omitted them; and it turned out fine. Same with the Parmesan--I put in a little chicken bouillon as a substitute. I probably only put in half of the olive oil and added some water to keep the fat down, which didn't cause any problems. I threw some ground turkey into the sauce & let it cook on the stove a little, which turned out surprisingly well (though chopped chicken would probably be best). I added some chunks of avocado at the end, which was delicious :) A great, economic recipe...yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
I used pine nuts, and lime juice instead of vinegar. I liked this recipe although 5 cloves of garlic is WAY too strong. My husband took one bite and said that the amount of garlic was burning his mouth. He wouldn't eat anymore so now I've just wasted 1 lb of pasta. I would think 2 cloves of garlic is enough, especially since you're eating it raw. This is the first time I've made pesto with cilantro though and am pleased that there are other alternatives to basil based pesto which can be more expensive. Maybe next time I'll try the walnuts or pecans since they're cheaper than pine nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
Pretty good. I also subbed pine nuts for the kind called for. Next time I will use lime juice instead of vinegar. Otherwise, somewhat bland. Maybe I needed to add salt or something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by casedilla

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
You really have to be a fan of cilantro to like this one - I thought it was really tasty but my boyfriend didn't care for it. An easy way to make an interesting, quick pasta dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
This is a really good pesto! I substituted toasted pine nuts for the nuts and used a tablespoon of fresh lime juice instead of vinegar. Definitely a keeper to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
This came out really well though i have to say, i couldn't tell that there was cilantro in it [instead of the usual basil]. I did change it a bit. I didn't have any white wine vinegar so i used red and added a couple of squirts of lemon juice. The large [more than normal] amount of garlic made it delightfully spicy. Also, when i mixed the pesto with the pasta, i added one finely chopped tomato and 1/4 of a bell pepper and it gave the final dish a little more texture and freshness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Cavanaugh

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
Delicious! Made this with pasta to searve with chicken. Pasta could have been served on it's own...family loved it! Cayanne gave it a little kick and just love that this was made with cilantro. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pesto

Watch how to make this top-rated pesto recipe.

Potato Pesto and Feta Pizza

See how to make a pesto and potato pizza.

Pesto Chicken Penne Casserole

A creamy, one-pan chicken pasta with Alfredo and pesto sauces.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States