Fabulous Cilantro Pesto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
I was not expecting much from this, but it was very good! I often buy fresh cilantro to use a small amount for a recipe, and it's frustrating trying to find a way to use up the rest. This is a tasty and easy way to use it up. I may try some other cilantro pesto recipes as well, but the nice thing about this one is that you probably have all the ingredients on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
this was good. i made as directed but I left out the vinegar. i added a little lemon juice instead. I expected more of a cilantro flavor than I got. beautiful sauce though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Vinings, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
I didn't like this a single bit! Mine turned out very bitter, and I can't figure out if it was the vinegar or the walnuts or what. Since I love cilantro, I'd give this another shot, but change it up with lime juice instead of vinegar, pine nuts instead of walnuts, and a jalapeno instead of the cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUMAHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
This was great! To adjust to personal taste: I use only 2 cloves of garlic, which was plenty. 1/3 c. of parmesan, 1/2 tsp. black pepper, 1 tbs. lemon juice and, 1/3 c. Brazilian nuts. Awesome pesto!...Next time, I’d double recipe so I can freeze some in an ice-cube tray for quick meals. Thank you for sharing and for some many helpful reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Pembroke Pines, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
Perfect summer time dish!! It was so refreshing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
I like cilantro, but this recipe was too much for me. My husband liked it, but, well, he likes everything. I served it with whole wheat bow ties and grilled chicken. The cilantro was just too overpowering though. I will stick with other pestos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
I loved this pesto!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seelymo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2007
Wow! Finally someone who loves garlic as much as me and my boyfriend! I add pickled jalepenos and skip the cayenne. Use this as a pizza sauce with some fajita style onions and peppers, some yummy steak or chicken, and some fresh salsa and you have my favorite CPK pizza! (Don't remember the name-- haven't had to go back there in a while!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BettyScoop

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rocky River, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
read previous reviews so subbed lemon juice for vinegar. Had pine nuts after making basil pesto, so toasted them & used them instead. Also, used about a 1/4t crushed red pepper instead of cayenne...I don't like really hot, just a zing. Since I was washing the cilantro as I was adding it to the blender, putting all the liquids in to begin w/, it got a little water & mixed up very nicely. Let it sit in fridge overnite & used on pasta w/ some feta...yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIANA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA
Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2007
Amazing alternative to regular basil pesto. I usually only need cilantro in small amounts so this is great way to not let the rest go to waste. I substituted regular olive oil for extra virgin and used almonds instead of walnuts or pecans (only because it was all I had at the time).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pesto

Watch how to make this top-rated pesto recipe.

Potato Pesto and Feta Pizza

See how to make a pesto and potato pizza.

Pesto Chicken Penne Casserole

A creamy, one-pan chicken pasta with Alfredo and pesto sauces.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States