Fabulous Beef Tenderloin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
Really good and easy but I think the time is way off. I only had 2lb tenderloin and had to cook it for the same time as 3lb and it was only med-rare which we like but for some that just wouldn't work. Adjust cooking time with your sides so they aren't cold by the time the beef is. Very tasty though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
772 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefspecialty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
I always have a beef tenderloin on hand but was looking for something different to do with it. When I saw this recipe with only three ingredients, I had to try it because if it was good...then I had the easiest recipe of all time in my recipe arsenal! I even tried it out on my husband and two guests (I did use low sodium soy sauce and unsalted butter which I would recommend)...and everyone loved it and said they'd give it 4.5 stars. Since I couldn't do the half star...I'm going 5 because of the simplicity. Thanks for the easy and tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
541 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
DELICIOUS!! This will impress your guests! I made a 5 lb tenderloin and doubled the sauce to serve 6 with leftovers. Added a mix of oyster, cremini, and baby bella mushrooms last 15 minutes as suggested by other reviews. Served with potato gratin and green bean bundles from this site. This was a very impressive dish with minimal effort, although the cut of meat is expensive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
455 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin T.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Holly Springs, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
I have done a lot of cooking for a great many years but I have NEVER served anything before as fabulous as this recipe....Easy...Perfect results...Very happy dinner guests....5 stars are not nearly enough!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
298 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
As suggested by others, I used 1/2 low sodium soy sauce and 1/2 Tastefully Simple Merlot sauce, and unsalted butter. I thinly sliced an onion and smashed 3 cloves of garlic. All of this went on a 6 lb. tenderloin for Christmas dinner. It took about 1 hour and 10 minutes to reach rare-med. rare stage. Absolutely delicious! Added fresh mushrooms around it for the last 20 minutes or so, rolled them in the pan gravy as they cooked. For gravy, after I removed the roast from the pan to rest, I put the roasting pan over 2 burners, added a can of beef broth and some water/cornstarch. Brought to a boil stirring constantly and cooked down just a bit. Super delicious! So glad to know how to cook a tenderloin now. Thank you for such a super recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
258 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
I was a little skeptical with so few ingrediants, but it was very easy and turned out quite good. I added fresh mushrooms the last 15 minutes, which I always like with my tenderloin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
130 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
I have made this twice. The second time I used low sodium soy souce which was even better (and I am a salt fan). Very tender and, best of all, easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HMB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
I just made this dish for some very picky eaters and everyone loved it! A lot of them said that it tasted a lot like prime rib. I added some diced red potatoes to the casserole dish and it turned out wonderful! Delicious and easy recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
Considering this being my first time roasting beef tenderloin, I have to say this recipe turned out pretty good. It does not call for much ingredients, it was simple, but very, very tasty! My husband was impressed, even my 18 month old enjoyed it! Thank you for this simple little recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Very simple recipe and tasted great. For those who do not cook tenderloin often, you should let the meat stand at room temperature for 2 hours before putting in the oven. I cooked a 6 lb tenderloin and cooking time was 1 hour 10 min for med rare (120 degree internal temp), doubled the recipe for this and basted every 20 minutes. Turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 386) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fabulous Beef Tenderloin

Impressive, melt-in-the-mouth beef tenderloin that’s so easy to make.

How to Make Roast Beef Tenderloin

Watch how to make delicious roast beef tenderloin.

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States