Fabulous Beef Tenderloin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Phenomenal. I followed some suggestions, used unsalted butter and did half soy half red wine. I also did let it come to room temperature for about an hour before baking. It was unbelievably good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I made a 6 lb tenderloin using this recipe for Christmas dinner. Although I was told it was good, I wasn't impressed. First, the recipe doesn't say to sear the meat before roasting, so I didn't. Searing would have drastically improved the taste and presentation. Also, since I doubled the meat, I doubled the "sauce", but it was so much that my meat was basically boiled in the soy/butter mix. This just didn't seem right. I basted every 20 minute but the sauce never thickened. It never seemed to "stick" to the meat. I don't think much of the soy flavor made it into the meat. It was just okay, I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Delicious! Smelled fantastic as it cooked. We did add mushrooms, onions and black pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Wonderful and tender! Everyone raved. I did have sticker shock over the price of the meat, but it's great to know that if I want to spend the money for something easy and delicious, yet impressive as well, I have this recipe in my arsenal. I will probably try it with low sodium soy sauce, as others have suggested. My guests also wanted some sauce on the side, like horseradish. I had not considered this, and didn't have time to throw something together, so we just offered creamed horseradish and sour cream. I will definitely try it again, maybe with mushrooms, as other reviewers suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Used Braggs Aminos instead of soy, reduce by 1/2, add red wine to make up difference. Reduce butter by 1/2. Added Braggs seasoning and pepper. I used a 6lb tenderloin. Watch cook times. I thought I needed a bit more for the 6 lbs but didn't. I ended up having it medium plus as it still cooks when you remove from oven. Be sure to remove at about 120 degrees for medium. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
This recipe was delicious! With the gravy drizzled on it was simply awesome! I would definitely recommend this simple and yummy recipe. I would give it 6 stars if I could. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Delicious and my Christmas guests loved it! I did add merlot to the sauce (and melted it all together in a sauce pan first). I had an 8 lb tenderloin so I doubled the recipe but only did one cup of soy and a half a cup of Merlot. Rubbed the roast with a little pepper and garlic powder. Next time I will use unsalted butter though no one complained it was salty (I think it was just a tad salty). My family members all asked for this to be my new Christmas feast! Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by irishgirlalbany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glens Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Fabulous simple recipe! Definitely will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
This recipe is a Christmas tradition, guaranteed to please!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Simply amazing!!! Looked at many comments and added a clove of garlic per pound, tblspn of red onion per pound, 1/2 cup merlot, and fresh mushrooms 20 min before taking it out. We used the drippings with the mushrooms as an aus zu. Wonderful and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 376) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Beef Tenderloin

Impressive, melt-in-the-mouth beef tenderloin that’s so easy to make.

How to Make Roast Beef Tenderloin

Watch how to make delicious roast beef tenderloin.

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States