Fab Summer Blackened Chicken Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 18, 2009
delish, cooked the chicken on the grill for some extra yummy smokey flavor. quick,easy, perfect for summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2006
This salad made an excellent, exotic summer salad for our murder mystery party. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christahannahmelody

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taylor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
Delicious! Added Feta cheese and red onions; omitted olives. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
This was delicious! Everything about the recipe was great, the cajun seasoning, the avocado, the dried tomatoes, the olives...FABULOUS salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
This was delicious! The chicken was nice and spicy, but when combined with the avocado's natural cooling effect it was divine! I bought the chicken cut for Scallopini (sp?) so it was thin and tender and better sized for salad. The dressing was really good, but I made two portions of it instead of one. This is a recipe I'll keep and share!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
Only used sun-dried tomatoes and spring mix since that's what I had on hand, but this is easily one of the best salads I've had in a while. The dressing is easily my favorite part! The whole dish is delicious the next day, too. I have a lovely, slightly tart white wine with it; it goes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EmilyJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
Yummy salad! Wonderful flavors. I made it as is & loved it! I was worried the chicken would be too spicy for my taste, but it was the right amount of kick. The calorie count is high, but that comes from various fats in the recipe, which are good fats, so I'm ok with it. I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Easy and yummy. Added avocado to the salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
This is an excellent salad, easily adaptable to suit individual tastes and preferences. For me that meant substituting fresh tomatoes for the sun-dried, which just weren’t moving me in a cold salad. It also meant not stirring crushed garlic into a hot pan where you’re blackening chicken, which I had Hubs do outside on the gas grill (even tho’ it’s 36 degrees outside!) in a cast iron skillet. I still wanted the garlic flavor, however, so I added some, minced, to the salad dressing instead. I needed to adjust the salad dressing as well, to my preferred oil to vinegar ratio of 3:1. Equal parts vinegar and oil would be far too vinegary for me. Everything is in balance here, and I especially liked the mix of the peppery arugula with the milder greens and the mild, creamy avocado against the spicy, blackened chicken. Rather than dice everything and toss it altogether, I topped the greens with the tomatoes, olives and slices of avocado, then arranged a sliced chicken breast on each. Great salad that does both the taste buds and body good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2005
This was an excellent salad. It reminds me of a Cobb Salad. I also added some crumbled feta cheese to add some zing to it, but either way it is a good one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Houma, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Kale, Swiss Chard, Chicken, and Feta Salad

This delicious chicken salad is bursting with healthy greens.

Basic Chicken Salad

See how to make a simple chicken salad that’s, well, basically delicious!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States