Ezekiel Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2002
FIRST TIME BREAD BAKER HERE! Loved this bread. Super healthy, tasty and dense. Tastes great with PB&J and goes well with a nice bowl of Split Pea soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2005
This was my first time baking bread and this recipe would've been great if the bread had risen:) Make sure your yeast is good. I found out that my yeast was no good. Had I done research on bread baking tips, I would've noticed that the yeast didn't "activate". My advice is to buy enough yeast to test out..if it doesn't bubble or foam, it's no good and to cut this recipe so that you won't waste product. I had to throw it all away, however I will try again and hopefully get it right next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by neb123

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2006
Very good ezekiel bread. I have to half the recipe otherwise it is just too much bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Haven, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2007
A very heavy loaf of bread. Very dense, but flavorful. I usually add ground cloves or cinnamon either when I'm mixing, or dust the top of the loaves before I put them in the oven. I use this bread for fasting, and I haven't had a problem with it yet. It just takes some time to prepare, but it's worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Ridgecrest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
Lovely bread, just as I like it ! it was my first time so I only made half of the recipe.I used my kitchenaide on 2 to mix everything To cut the waiting time I warm up the dryer and stop it and put the loaf inside and close the door . Finally I brushed the breads 15 min before they where ready with an egg white and a little bit of agave. Delish! I will make it again Thanks to the poster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Beverly Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
I like this bread. It isn't the very best bread I've ever made, but it is very healthy, and is helping me use up some of the alternative flours I have on hand from denser, low-carb breads I didn't want to make. I did change it a little bit - First, I reduced it to one loaf size (12 servings). I had all of the ingredients on-hand, except millet flour, but I did have actual millet so I cooked the lentils and 1 Tbsp of millet (since it would expand) together. I prepared as the recipe directed until it was time to mix all the ingredients together. At that point I put it into my breadmaker on the whole wheat setting 1.5 LB loaf, and let it do the rest. The only other recipe change I made was to add 3 Tsp vital wheat gluten since the recipe really doesn't call for much yeast. The bread turned out nice! It is still quite dense, but is very moist. It has a nice, mild flavor very suitable for just some butter, or using in a sandwich. Overall I am very pleased and will make this again. Thanks to its author!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
I ground everything myself because it was easier and cheaper than buying all those flours. This includes a lot of sifting to get the bigger particles out of the dough. The bread came out with an odd texture, it seemed to disintegrate into paste when I bit into a slice. The taste was fine. Maybe I didn't add the right amount of water or should have baked in a flatter pan. My grandmother makes a country bread with a similar texture that she bakes in flat discs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
Used all the right ingredients, followed instruction completely. The bread did not rise, got five loaves, very tasty, very dense but as I said stayed flat only rising a little. Looking for another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States