Ezekiel Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
I don't have a flour mill and used my spice grinder to break down the grains and beans. The recipe should have the yield a flour mill will give because what I have is like a soup I am gradually adding more spelt and some barley flakes to try to salvage the work I have done
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
terrific recipe! I would like to add that the amount of salt is just right (in contrast to the previous comment) and not a mistake! The bread is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
This bread was very good.....AFTER I had to doctor the recipe up....big time!! I don't know where I went wrong and I am positive I followed the recipe to the letter, but when it was time to pour the "batter" into the prepared loaf pans I knew there was NO WAY this was going to turn in to bread Ezekiel or otherwise. It was just this WATERY mixture. I ended up adding tons of add'l flours....every kind I had....add'l spelt, whole wheat, sun flower.....anything I had. It ended up moist and dense, but this recipe didn't work for me. 4 cups of water? After I did my hocus-pocus I reviewed the recipe and realize that 5 1/2 c of liquid is WAY HIGH for the amount of dry ingredients.... I don't want to toss this recipe as it is healthy, but HELP!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
This bread is delicious. I did change some things, I used 1 T salt instead of 2. I didn't have any millet so I used quinoa instead. Added flax seed and raw sunflower seed to the batter and sprinkled some oat flakes on top of loaves. I worried about all the grains and beans being ground into flour but it work very well in my blender. It is heavy duty high speed so I don't know if it would have ground that well in my food processor. I think it would be good with cinnamon and raisins also. Will make this bread often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
I have made this bread twice. The first time I just added enough white flour until I got bread consistency. It was great a bit too sweet. The second time I reduced the water to 3 cups, used 7.5 cups of ezekiel mix ( I buy all the grains mixed and grind them) 1 cup white flour and only 1/2 cup honey. I also add 2 tbsp vital wheat gluten to make a smooth bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
The reason I give this bread a three our if five stars is because of the inability of my food processor to finely grind the wheat berries. If you have a flour mill this would probably be great but without it the bread is just full of wheat berries and the consistency is crumbly due to the lower gluten content. Note: when looking for wheat berries for breads look for hard not soft because the gluten content is higher, insuring a nicer bread. Also when grinding the flour the finer it is the more elasticity it will have allowing you to have a cutable loaf. The flavor was good and had a slight sweetness. I covered the tope of mine with honey and sunflower seeds and it added a nice sweet and nutty touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
Just made this bread for the first time, sadly before I read about the salt and need for 3 pans. In addition to these changes, I see some people reduce the honey. Do you need to add more liquid if less honey? Also, my bread is very crumbly. Suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
Perfect! No problems with rising too much or sticking to the loaf pans. Since I live by the rule "cooking is an art; baking is a science", I measure very carefully for baking. I also use non-stick loaf pans lightly sprayed with Pam. I've made this bread several times in the past few weeks, and I love it! I switched the 1 cup honey for 1/2 cup of molasses and 1/2 cup of organic blue agave, which works well. I've made it in the bread machine and in the oven. Not too much difference. I think the bread machine version has a little more stability. I'm also going to try adding dried cranberries or raisins to make a sweet bread next time. Right now I enjoy it in the morning, lightly toasted with butter. For those who like a hearty, grainy bread, this is a good choice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee R.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
I love Ezekiel bread...however this was a bit sweet and I did not even put in the full cup of honey. Since this is cooked, I think I'll substitute blackstrap molasses in my next attempt since my raw honey is prized and I hate to spoil it's enzyme power by heating it over 117 degrees! I could not get the loaves out of the pan without wrecking them. I greased very well. Next time I'll definitely use some parchment paper but the recipe needs to include the rest of the story. Slicing after a day would be helpful to include, as others mentioned. Tasted great and ingredients are great, too. I buy yeast in bulk so 2 tsp. = 1 pkg. yeast, or 4 tsp. for the entire recipe. I've used a recipe for steel-cut oats bread and in that you boil water and put it, salt, blackstrap molasses, butter and steel cut oats in a bowl and let them sit before continuing by adding yeast, water, flour, etc. this may help with the hard bits in this bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Excellent! Tastes fantastic and filling with honey and butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States