Ezekiel Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2010
This bread is easy and fun to make and is very healthy but i took off two stars because the recipe is has mistake in the ingredients. It should say 2 tsp. of salt not 2 Tablespoons. The first time we made it it was very salty so we researched it and all the other ezekiel recipes online call for 2 tsp of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
691 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2003
Very good! It was easy to make and went fast! It is a little crumbly though, just don't try to slice it until it is cool. Don't be intimidated by the whole 'grinding your own flour' thing, you can easily do it in a blender, just use small amounts. Everything you need can be found in a health food store. Have fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
336 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
the recipe is just like what I pay $4.89 loaf int eh health store I figure-by the time I buy all the ingredients-electricity for the oven my time--I will keep buying the already made loaf
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
229 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lindsay, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Platte Center, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2002
Yes, this bread is nutritionally complete. If you are interested in making things like this, you probably would like to read the book, "What Would Jesus Eat?" by Dr. Don Colbert. You can get it at Christian bookstores. Also, you can buy this bread already made from health food stores.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
Very good bread.I soak the wheat berries first,cover with water,(2 days),change water once a day,then drain,and grind.Barley and beans I soak overnight then drain and grind.Millet and lentils I leave dry.Sometimes I decrease the water amount by half cup just depends on how the dough feels.I use chickpeas instead of beans too.You can even let the beans and wheat sprout then grind.I find you get the same benefits but no gas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Richland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
This bread is filling! I keep it wrapped and refrigerated. I have one slice for breakfast every morning and it lasts about 2 weeks. This is a great diet meal for the money. It also makes a great french toast! I ran out of honey last time and substituted a small portion of molasses. It gave a robust flavor, but didn't rise as much as I thought it should.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
This is very hearty bread. Must be treated like a sweet bread, in that it holds together better if put in a plastic wrap and then used the next day. Very filling. Pleasant texture. I keep mine in the frig. Warms nicely in a toaster oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2002
Very yummy bread, but also very gas producing due to the bean content.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A Baker's Dozen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
I used only 2 tsp of salt and this bread came out wonderful. My husband and I own a store where we have all the ingredients at hand - and homemade is so much better than store bought. My children enjoyed helping put the ingredients together too. The bread was crumbly when very warm but even better the next day -- all 8 of my children asked to have it for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Blanch, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
A good, hearty, nutritious bread, all ingredients available at the Whole Foods across the street from my house - but WAY too sweet for my liking. Next time I'll experiment with cutting the honey back to maybe 1/4 cup, and cutting the salt back so hopefully it'll still rise properly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrisDee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Monkey Bread I

It’s so easy to make fun, delicious monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States