Extreme Veggie Scrambled Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
I leave out the chopped tomatoes and add Jimmy Dean sausage crumbles or any left over ham or smoked sausage I may have and a bit of minced garlic. 1/4 cup of Olive oil does sound like a bit much though,I just add a drizzle to the pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
I havent made this recipe but I do one very similiar to this. I use olive oil and also a couple pats of butter melted together. I saute onion and green or yellow pepper together and add real bacon bits to it. Sometimes if I have turkey breakfast sausage patties I will crumble them up and add to this. I season with sea salt, cracked pepper and a little garlic powder. When onions are translucent I add the eggs and cook until set. Then top it with shredded cheddar cheese and allow to melt before serving. My favorite way to eat eggs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
I have been making scrambled eggs like this for years. I do not use olive oil, but do use just enough Country Crock margarine to cook the veggies. I do not like tomatoes with eggs, so I don't use them. Don't skip the milk as it makes the eggs flufflier, and I add a sprinkling of Italian seasoning, minced garlic, and fresh ground pepper. Hubby uses hot sauce. I use 2 eggs per person. Shredded Mexican cheese is also a nice option.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
Thanks for sharing. I LOVE lots of veggies in my scrambled eggs. I make a very similar recipe with the following changes or additions: I use butter (instead of oil), red bell pepper, a little water tastes better to me as it seems to make the eggs fluffier -- milk makes them a bit too rubbery for my taste, sliced green olives, salt and fresh minced garlic, and sometimes even a little fresh ground pepper. I tend to just use whatever veggies around but the ones you used are often staples for me too! Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
I agree with many of the comments here. What a wonderful memory jog to inspire me for this morning's breakfast. I had everything in my refrigerator; even made this type of breakfast before, just wasn't thinking about it. Thanks for the inspiration. By the way, I did use butter instead of olive oil, my preference for eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
This turned out good, I didn't have cheese so I left that out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Old, I mean experienced, cooks like me don't need a recipe for something like this, but I'm sure they'll agree with me that when you're brain dead and don't know what to make a recipe like this is great for an "aha!" moment of inspiration. Novice or beginner cooks will appreciate this recipe as it is so ideal and instructional. Good for you and good tasting too, packed with healthy carbs, protein, dairy and a little fat, you know you're doing your body good. I made only one real change to the recipe...I use olive oil for just about everything, but never with eggs so I used butter instead. I added salt and pepper, didn't measure anything precisely, and used a colorful mix of orange, yellow, green and red bell peppers. I served this with "Crispy Mashed Potato Pancake," also from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Great for a Sunday breakfast! I didn't use 1/4 cup of olive oil though - about half of that as I use a non-stick pan. This combination of veggies is great, all I added was a little minced garlic. This was perfect with a side of bacon and whole grain toast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
I made a lot of changes to this recipe, but it turned out great and I just thought I'd share :) I cut out the oil, using a couple sprays of nonstick cooking spray instead. I left the onions in rings instead of chopping them finely, and used red pepper instead of green, and broccoli instead of mushrooms. I didn't have any tomatoes, so I skipped them, and used water instead of milk. I also forgot to put the cheese on (dumb me!) They were so yummy; and the cheese would probably only make them even yummier! Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Jessica
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
Very good. I used cooking spray instead of oil. I used all egg whites and I didn't have the pepper or tomato, so I used spinach and zucchini. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwood, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John's Summer Scrambled Eggs

Fresh basil, cherry tomatoes, and feta cheese make the perfect summer scramble.

Scrambled Eggs Done Right

See how to make perfect fluffy scrambled eggs.

Lobster Scrambled Eggs

Watch Chef John make scrumptious scrambled eggs with leftover lobster meat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States