Extreme Veggie Scrambled Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
I have been making this for years. I call it a scrambled omlet. So simple, just throw in whatever fresh veggies you have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Liberty Center, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
I liked the ratio of ingredients to the eggs. No matter what I replace the fresh tomato with (e.g. spinach, baby greens, or a mix of greens and tomatoes) as long as I keep the ratio it works out well. About the mushrooms, with fresh mushrooms if I only quickly rinse them and paper towel blot them, the water content of the dish stays to a minimum. I'm still new at cooking but with recipes like this one and it's scalability, I'm really enjoying it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
This was so great-like other people said-it's so simple, but great to remember good flavor combinations. I added a small clove of garlic (minced) and omitted the milk and cheese (not part of the diet). So easy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
I love weekends when I can take the time to make a breakfast like this. I first cook my veggies until my desired tenderness and then add my tomatoes and pour the egg mixture over it all. I put the lid on to let my eggs harden a bit before stirring, over med/low heat. Then gently use the spatula to gently fold over the eggs. Placing the lid back on to help hold the heat in and cook the eggs. This way you don't get a globby mess of eggs from too much stirring. Top with any cheese you like and serve once cheese melts. If no tomatoes, top with some salsa or hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
I make this all the time on the weekends. I always have those ingredients on hand. I wouldn't have thought to write a recipe out for it. I do though cook the vegetables on medium unless you want them brown keeping the temperature the same when adding the eggs. It doesn't need quite so much oil either. I learned years ago to add ice cold water instead of milk. It makes the eggs fluffy every time. It's a great way to use up small amounts of leftover vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
Yummy...made this frittata style and used a carton of egg beaters instead of whole eggs.....also used provolone and pecorino romano cheeses instead of cheddar. Served with toasted whole wheat sandwhich thins. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
This was a great way to incorporate all the fresh veggies I had in my refrigerator. I added in a little red and yellow bell pepper and 1 garlic clove, minced. I seasoned the eggs with hawaiian sea salt and black pepper. Very tasty and filled me up. This was a healthy way to start my morning. I ate this with, "Crispy Potato Pancakes," which can be found here on this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
This recipe was AMAZING! I didn't use mushrooms because I don't like them but I still tasted reallly good! This is a great Sunday meal! Anyone who wants a simple but delicious breakfast, try this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
I have been experimenting with simplier versions of this and enjoyed the results. One omelet I do uses just fresh muchrooms plus smoked okra -- smoked the evening before over charcoal (in a dog-feeding pay with holes punched in the bottom). You didn't mention folding the omelet. My system is to not mix the 'stuffing' into the egg but add it to one half of the top of a two- or three-egg (plus a little milk) mix when it's just starting to set up. This makes folding, after a couple of minutes over medium heat, very easy. I then cut the omelet in half to form two triangles, one for each of a couple of people. BTW, like many other reviewers, I use olive oil for nearly everything. (I buy it by the gallon, then pour it into recycled quart- or litre-sized o. oil bottles.) Much as I like the taste of butter with omelets, I find it much easier to control the oil -- to keep it from getting too hot or burning, as butter tends to do if the heat's too high. One other thing: Asthetically, I'd rather stay away from packaged shredded cheese, but the convenience it affords wins me over, as it does you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Java, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
This sounds wonderful. I prefer green onions with eggs, and since I only have Almond Milk (awful with eggs) I have been using sour cream as my addition to make the eggs fluffier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Summer Scrambled Eggs

Fresh basil, cherry tomatoes, and feta cheese make the perfect summer scramble.

Scrambled Eggs Done Right

See how to make perfect fluffy scrambled eggs.

Lobster Scrambled Eggs

Watch Chef John make scrumptious scrambled eggs with leftover lobster meat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States