Extreme Veggie Scrambled Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
I started making my eggs this way when I was a teenager,and still do it now 30 years later. I LOVE all the veges in the eggs, and sometimes add some cheese to melt ontop. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Enfield, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
Excellent not only for breakfast or a quick supper. Thanks for something so simple and good - why didn't I think of it? No changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
Great recipe. My own scrambled egg recipe(s) evolved over the years from a western omelette, when I was a newlywed. These days, I mostly use green pepper, onion, & Cheddar cheese; some times salsa & cheese, or even just chives. It's all good. Some folks need to lighten up. The dissed person probably is a chef, but I felt he was referring to himself, as much as other people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
Was outstanding, I adjusted the recipe and made it for only one, I have to watch protein intake so I did it with the egg whites. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
Very tasty. I tried it out of curiosity, since it is similar to a recipe that I use for scrambled eggs. However, next time, I will revert to my standard recipe, which does not include milk and differs in several other significant ways. I know that many use milk in scrambled eggs, but I prefer mine less fluffy. I also use avocado, which I feel makes a major contribution, and I often use more tomato, which makes it a bit more like one of the staple tomato and egg dishes served regularly in many parts of China. I also replace roughly half of the eggs with tofu, which makes it much more healthful, both because of the health benefits of tofu and the reduction in cholesterol. I also add spinach, which I buy fresh but freeze for later cooking when it starts to deteriorate. Unlike others who have reviewed this dish, I prefer olive oil for cooking eggs (even for fried eggs), both for taste and health reasons. I used to use butter (and even bacon drippings before that), but olive oil is far more healthful. I usually use sharp cheddar cheese, but next time, I will try feta, as another reviewer suggested. Fresh cilantro is also a nice addition, and if you add cumin, it makes a tasty breakfast wrap (in a flour tortilla). For wraps, you can add shrimp or sausage for extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
Wow! This recipe brought back memories of my father teaching his 10 yr old daughter how to make this recipe 50 years ago. It has always been a favorite of mine. The only difference is he used butter instead of olive oil. Today, I use less butter and more than just mushrooms, bell peppers, onion, and tomato and just a hint of salt. My motto is "Whatever veggie is sitting in my fridge is likely to be tossed in this recipe." Avocado blends in very well. Dad also made a Bacon, Tomato, Onion Scrambled Egg version. It was another favorite of mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
Yummmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetolRN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
I make something similar. 1 or 2 person version uses about the same veggies (tomatoes are great if garden fresh). Only 1-2 TBS oil, 1-2 TBS cheese, also can add favorite salsa (TBS-no more). Serve with tortillas or mexican roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
Try it with spinach and feta instead of cheddar. I also used a cooking spray instead of the oil and removed three of the egg yolks for a lower cal version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
I leave out the chopped tomatoes and add Jimmy Dean sausage crumbles or any left over ham or smoked sausage I may have and a bit of minced garlic. 1/4 cup of Olive oil does sound like a bit much though,I just add a drizzle to the pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Summer Scrambled Eggs

Fresh basil, cherry tomatoes, and feta cheese make the perfect summer scramble.

Scrambled Eggs Done Right

See how to make perfect fluffy scrambled eggs.

Lobster Scrambled Eggs

Watch Chef John make scrumptious scrambled eggs with leftover lobster meat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States