Extreme Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
I do this all the time and it is gone by the evening! So airy, not too sweet,easy to make. I did it as it says however, I added 1 tablespoon of instant coffee to the boiling water. And the secret- quality chocolate. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
SUCH a good recipe, I would definitely recommend it to anyone looking to make a chocolate cake! Try adding 1/4 tsp. of mint extract and an already awesome recipe gets even better! The batter is a bit runny but it cooks well and the final product is moist and light.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bryony Page

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
I made this the day before yesterday and served it yesterday. The frosting was phenomenal!! A bit surprised there was enough left over to frost the cake :+/ after getting my hands on it. Yum!! The cake was excellent and moist to boot!! More stars please!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Kaiser

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Photo by Haniyn Asiyah Al-Haniyf
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
This goes in my recipe notebook for sure! I got real scared at first because I mixed it up as it says but replaced the boiling water with hot coffee. BIG Difference for the better. It was really soupy so i thought for sure I messed it up, but I put it in the oven any ways. SUCCESS. I feel really accomplished making such a fantastic cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Haniyn Asiyah Al-Haniyf

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
This cake was absolutely wonderful! Followed the recipe exactly; it was so flavorful and moist... just perfection. My daughters went crazy for it (with the chocoholics in my family, that's high praise!) Don't be alarmed at the thinness of the batter after adding the boiling water, it sets up beautifully. This is now my default chocolate cake mix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuzannaS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Everyone I've ever made this cake for has LOVED it! I get requests to make it all the time and for you chocolate lovers. . . . I add dark chocolate chips to it to give it that over the top chocolate kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
If you are like me, and you read the bad reviews before you make the recipe, don't be afraid! My cake turned out perfect with none of the problems talked about. My cakes did not spill over during baking and cooked perfectly in 30 min. I assume those who had problems used an 8" pan instead of a 9" pan. I used parchment on the bottom of my pans along with butter and flour to solve the cake sticking in the pan problem. The cakes came out perfectly after 10min of cooling time. There was also no crumbling problem when I cut the cakes in half for layering, and they easily transferred around from cooling rack to icing plate. The icing was a perfect spreading texture, and there was no issue with crumbs. I did always place the cut side down for all layers while I iced the cake. The cake was a moist, rich chocolate lovers dream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
moist but sticks to pan cant do without butter paper.. taste delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lopaka77
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
I made for a friends birthday and covered it all in ganache. I only made a 2 layer version but it was still divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
It's a delicious and easy cake . I replaced the unsweetened coco with sweet one and reduce the sugar to third cup . Also I used coffee instead of hot water .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Najla

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,272) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States