Extreme Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
Delicious. Not so rich or overpowering that you can't bear more than a couple bites, but decadent enough that you finish your [second...or third] slice completely satisfied and delighted with your decision to indulge. Replaced vegetable oil with coconut oil (regular choice on my part). Though my taste buds were completely satisfied with the original recipe, I knew my decadent-dessert-loving husband would like even more money in this cake. So the second time I made it, right before I poured the batter in the pan I lightly swirled in some peanut butter, dark chocolate shavings, and brown sugar. Just enough to add a little extra boost of richness. The peanut butter swirls looked pretty before I iced it, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
This cake tastes awesome but the middle falls and I made the mistake of making it twice thinking I could be more careful mixing ingredients….wrong. Now I have to find another recipe and start allll over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hope Faber

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
fell apart in my hands and tasted bitter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
I followed the recipe exactly, until I got to the milk. I used 1/2 cup heavy whipping cream and a 1/2 cup milk (my on hand ingredients). I also used butter instead of oil. Although the pans were oiled and nonstick pans, there was still an issue with depanning--the bottom layer of each cake layer just did not want to release. I ended up with, well, with a chocolate bomb. It tried falling part, so I used the frosting like glue. Other than that, great tasting cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Dawn

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
BEST recipe EVER!! LOVED THE CAKE!! It was light, moist and delicious! Make sure you use the parchment paper, I only used in on one pan and the one I didn't was very messy to get the cake out of. I made a ganache for the frosting though as I don't like the regular butter cream style. PERFECT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
Amazing!! I halved the recipe and used brewed coffee in place of boiled water, then I made cupcakes instead:) Baked for 20 minutes and they were heavenly! Even after two days, the cupcakes were moist and perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Campbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Vilseck, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
Amazing! I made it with my mom for my birthday. We added a bit more chocolate than called for and bought the most amazing chocolate frosting at the store. After last year's less-than-stellar cheesecake that I got sick of after a few days, this was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erica B
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
This cake was very good & moist! I had to add a little more milk to the frosting for spread-ability, but otherwise it was very good as is. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erica B

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crookston, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hannah, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
wow. I love it. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
I did read some reviews first and so I substituted a cup of black coffee for the water. I also reduced the cocoa in the frosting to one cup and the sugar to under 3 cups. Left the cake in the pan to cool for 1hr. I used 9" springform pans and the the cake did not stick (but that might be the tin glide), one of the cakes fractured slightly but I was able to put it together (it is a very delicate cake). The cake was moist and delicious, I could have eating the frosting from the bowl and that doesn't happen often. It was a smash hit welcome home cake for dad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,384) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States