Extreme Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by bcole09
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2015
I made this cake for my husband's birthday. He loves ice cream cakes so I put ice cream between the two layers. He loved it! Next time I make it I will try it with the coffee instead of water like someone suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2015
Made this cake today for husbands birthday. I have tried many homemade cakes before and this is by far the best. We did not want to stop eating it. Adding the water makes it this super fudgey like texture once baked and it is absolutely wonderful!! This will now be our go to chocolate cake recipe! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2015
Absolutely the moistest chocolate cake I've ever tasted. The icing was creamy goodness and not too sweet. I made this in 3 layers and froze them after cooling, for a month before frosting and it was still the best cake my family had had. Am making it for my daughter's wedding cake. Only + was a bit of salt to the icing along with regular salted butter, to cut the sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Isaac Hamm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2015
Easily THE BEST chocolate cake I've ever had. So moist, rich and decadent. The only thing I changed was dropped the sugar from 2 cups down to 1 1/2 cups. I made it in a bundt pan and baked for 37 minutes or so. I aso think you can get away with making half the icing, especially if not icing between any layers. So amazing. Does anyone know if you can transform this recipe into an amazing white cake by omitting the cocoa?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2015
I have made this recipe at least Five times now, there is never any left. Everyone loves it, super moist and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2015
Definitely the best cake that I have EVER had. I made it for my parents and myself, and they completely agreed that it was the best cake they've ever had. It is SO moist and chocolatey. I wasn't expecting to like this recipe this much. I like it so much more than any box recipe I've used. I used a bundt pan to cook it in. The only problem was getting it out of the pan, which was 100% my fault. Make sure to spray your pans very well to make sure that the cake doesn't break and crumble, like mine. I didn't make the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lexy Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2015
Delicious. But make sure to add the water as I forgot to do this and the cake didn't rise as much in the center and would break easily. This problem was fixed with the amazing frosting! it looked a little sloppy but tasted amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2015
The recipe is fine for cup cakes or small baking tins but having tried it the day before I had to get a cake made, I was really disappointed. It shrinks and you need at 3 cakes to stack and make a decent size cake. I would use it (maybe..) for cupcakes only.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2015
I really liked this recipe. I usually use a chocolate cake mix, however I forgot to buy one at the store, so this was plan B. I made cupcakes and put mini chocolate chips in them. They were moist, very flavorful and delicious. The boiling water step really concerned me. The batter seemed ultra thin, however they rose beautifully. I did not make the frosting. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2015
HI I made this cake for a birthday surprise at work! It was really fantastic and so yummy! Thanks I will be making it again as my new favourite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,427) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States