Extreme Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
OMG! This was just delicious and boy did my boyfriend love it! Yes, it was watery and I did worry when I poured the batter into the pans. But it was awesome and my boyfriend is already asking when I will make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazychick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
excellent! use a can of tomato paste insteadof ketchup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
I've NEVER been able to make a good Chocolate cake. Perhaps that's why, even thought I read most of the comments for this recipe, I was still skeptical about how the outcome would be. THIS IS TRULY THE BEST CHOCOLATE CAKE EVER! ...and the easiest by far!!! So glad I tried it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UmmUmarNY
Living In: Wheaton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Although there was way too much frosting even when I cut it to make four layers this cake was wonderful. I made it for my friends sons 8th birthday and the whole thing disappeared.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
I usually find most dessert recipes too sweet. I used 1 2/3 cups sugar instead of 2 and glad I did. Like most, I used coffee instead of hot water. I found it a little too chocolatey. Next time I will decrease amount of cocoa used. Very good flavour though and very moist. With these adjustments, this will be my new go to chocolate cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AuntE
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
Cured my chocolate craving for sure!!! I substituted 1/2 of sugar with honey, and used applesauce for the oil. The cake was very moist. Loved the sweet frosting. Baked right at estimated time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
HOLY COW THIS IS GOOD! In the past I have tried SO many cakes and they all turned out the same way, crumbly, stick to the pan, tasting gross, etc. But then I saw this AWESOME recipe and it worked out PERFECT probably the best I have EVER made! Not only is this the best cake you will ever try, but it is the easiest cake you will make…ever!! I would rate this 500 stars if I could!!! Thanks so much for sharing this AWESOME recipe!! I look forward to making it again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lizzy B.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
This cake is the BEST chocolate cake my family has ever had. We are extreme chocoholics here and this was perfect as-is. We followed the recipe to the T and got a perfect cake that was gone quickly! I'm actually getting ready to make another one right now. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
This is seriously the best cake recipe ever. I couldn't believe how easy it was and I was actually pretty concerned by the batter but OH EM GEE. It was moist and amazing. If you sift the flour and the cocoa powder, it makes it extra fluffy. Make sure your pan isn't too deep or it'll take a long time to bake and it won't be as good. Spreading it into two pans works nicely. It also makes really great cupcakes too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah L

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
I followed the directions to a T but for some reason the cake is still incredibly runny. It has now been in the oven for an hour and a half and the center is completely raw. I am terribly disappointed and worried that this cake is not going to turn out good. I'm thinking that if it ever cooks its going to have the consistency of a brownie rather than the traditional fluffiness of a cake :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jazmin nelson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,346) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States