Extreme Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 28, 2014
Fabulous cake! Like other reviewers I used freshly brewed coffee in place of the hot water. I also used about 25% less sugar and it was plenty sweet - especially with frosting. I did not use the frosting included with this cake recipe though, but rather the Cream Cheese Frosting II recipe from this site. It's got a great texture and wonderful, rich flavor. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meg Mae

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
I love this recipe it is just fabulous. It is really moist and not super sweet, and the frosting tastes great! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexandra Gast

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
The best chocolate cake I've ever made!!! I added some strawberries in the middle and on top and it made it even better I definitely would recommend this to anyone and everyone!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
This is a superb chocolate cake. I added 2 shots of hot espresso to the boiling water to make the cup measurement. If you like coffee, this enhances a definitive chocolate cake. A recipe to keep and pass on for sure. Thanks for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mridu Bhattacharya
Reviewed: May 23, 2014
I tried making this cake and it came out very well. I did make certain changes like I baked it for 40 mins at 170 degrees centigrade and let it cool for 1 hour. While frosting I made 4 layers as mentioned in the recipe and I made a rectangular cake. While serving I made thin slices and served it with vanilla ice cream. As it is extreme chocolate cake, I called it "Death by Chocolate". Because of the thin slices, I also served it as Ice cream sandwich, with a thick layer of vanilla ice cream between two slices of cake and some chocolate sauce on the top. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mridu Bhattacharya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Patna, Bihar, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
This cake was AMAZING! I prefer dark chocolate to milk chocolate so I used Hershey's special dark cocoa for both the cake and icing. I also substituted 1/2 cup butter for vegetable oil. It was perfect, and there were no issues with sticking to the pan. I recommend making it the day before you plan to eat it and refridgerating overnight. It's much better the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
Half the cake stuck to the pan after waiting 20 min to remove it. It is also very delicate/crumbly which makes it difficult to ice it back together. It seems as though the cake will fall apart any minute. Good flavour however, I'll be trying a different cake recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
Seriously so moist and delicious! The best chocolate cake I've ever made!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
This recipe is good. Boxed cake mix and icing from a tub is also good... and easier... I would generally still go that route. However, if you're a stickler for from-scratch technique or maybe you have an hour to make a cake with things in your pantry (like I did!) then this recipe is fantastic! I actually halved the recipe and cooked up 1 x 8-inch pan's worth, which worked great, and fed 6 kids just fine. Needed 5-10 more minutes in the oven than a 9-inch pan since it was a bit thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennett Square, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
I never give 5 stars on anything and This gets 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,288) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States