Extreme Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
This was excellent! The description is perfect: a rich, moist cake. I did not try the frosting because I'd already fallen in love with Chocolate Frosting II (made with 2.5 c sugar). I made 24 cupcakes with this recipe and baked them for about 21 minutes. I am strongly opposed to chemical-laden boxed cake mixes, so thank you for this wonderful recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Ok -- I'm generally a tough critic but this cake is AMAZING!! first of all, this whole recipe is relatively simple to make. I love that all of the ingredients are real foods and I will ALWAYS use this chocolate buttercream recipe whether or not I make this cake. I was unexpectedly short of confectioners sugar and had to cut the icing recipe in half but it was ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC!! in fact, the 1/2 quantity of icing really allowed the perfectly balanced flavor and texture of the cake to shine through. I followed the recipe to a T and I couldn't have been happier. It's better the second day too! Thank you for sharing -- make this, you won't be sorry!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Omg....I made this recipe yesterday into cupcakes..sooo delicious. Took it to the pub for a b'day...People were crazy for them...said they were absolutely the BEST they had ever tasted. I did make a small change to the recipe though..as follows: (By the way, I also increased the serving size to 36 so that change is reflected in my post). I had no milk, only Silk True Almond, and not enough of that so I added the 2 cups, then to the 1/4 cup I had left, I added about half whipping cream and half water. I decreased the water by 1/4 c. and also added 3 tbsp. brewed coffee. They were sooo moist and delicious. Cooked the cupcakes for 19 min I made them into Black Forest cupcakes by coring them...adding cherry pie filling and a combination of whipped cream, cream cheese and a small bit of icing sugar and topping them with that. I live in B.C. Canada which is good to know as sometimes recipes work or don't work based on your altitude.. This recipes worked great here!!! This will go down as my ONLY chocolate cake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marilyn
Home Town: Fort Saskatchewan, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
I loved this chocolate cake! It's by far my favorite homemade recipe. It is dense and not too sweet. I was a bit taken back by the boiling water step because it made the batter look soupy but it came out just fine! I didn't change any of this recipe and wouldn't change anything besides maybe adding less cocoa power to the frosting. It reminds me of a cake-like brownie. If you don't like this consistency do not make this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doris Qualls

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
The only chocolate cake I make. Terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Best chocolate cake ever! Sift all the dry ingredients together before you add them to the mixed wet ingredients. I will be using this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
This recipe was easy to follow and hands down THE best chocolate cake that I've tasted! Thought it was going to go bad as I placed the hot water and consistency was very watery but I know I followed everything to its very detail and had faith that it would turn out good. . . it was even BETTER than I would've imagined! it was not too sweet and VERY moist! A family favorite from now on!!! ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
It was just delicious! Making it again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
This is the best chocolate cake! I got rave reviews. So moist, and delicious. The only change I made was instead of boiling water, I added boiling coffee. This is a keeper and the only chocolate cake I will ever make. I'm done looking for the perfect recipe. This is it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lily Alejandro-Soto

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Hamburg, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
Absolutely tastes. A potluck fight over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 1,405) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States