Extreme Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Eve Ng
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
THIS RECIPE WAS AMAZING!! Made it for a birthday celebration and everyone wanted a slice, to the point there wasn't enough to go around. Like what the other reviewers suggested, i changed the 1 cup boiling water to 1 cup of boiling hot coffee. I used an instant coffee bag and it turned out just fine. Kept everything else the same, but used another chocolate frosting recipe. To get a flat top, let your cake cool after taking it out of the oven, for about 10-15mins. Mine did puff down which allowed me to get 2 flat top cakes, i placed the tops down, facing each other and slapped some frosting between, so the flat side (bottom of pan) would be the base and top. Do wait for the cakes to cool before frosting else it would turn runny. Fantastic cake and i would make it again! (Well i have to cos everyone has requested this for the subsequent birthdays) DO GIVE IT A TRY, NO REGRETS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eve Ng

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
Moist, chocolaty, rose even, easy to frost!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
Oh this cake is good. I used coffee instead of water and made 20 enormous cupcakes. I baked it for about 30 minutes. My big mistake was adding chocolate chips to the batter. The chips sunk to the bottom. Don't bother with them. Otherwise, excellent and extremely moist cake. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURASC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
This was amazing! I'm not a chocolate fan but it was for my brother's bday and he LOVES chocolate. Super moist, not too sweet, yummy! I also added 1 cup of coffee instead of the boiling water. And I paired it with lemon frosting from this website too. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
Delicious. Not so rich or overpowering that you can't bear more than a couple bites, but decadent enough that you finish your [second...or third] slice completely satisfied and delighted with your decision to indulge. Replaced vegetable oil with coconut oil (regular choice on my part). Though my taste buds were completely satisfied with the original recipe, I knew my decadent-dessert-loving husband would like even more money in this cake. So the second time I made it, right before I poured the batter in the pan I lightly swirled in some peanut butter, dark chocolate shavings, and brown sugar. Just enough to add a little extra boost of richness. The peanut butter swirls looked pretty before I iced it, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
This cake tastes awesome but the middle falls and I made the mistake of making it twice thinking I could be more careful mixing ingredients….wrong. Now I have to find another recipe and start allll over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hope Faber

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
fell apart in my hands and tasted bitter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
I followed the recipe exactly, until I got to the milk. I used 1/2 cup heavy whipping cream and a 1/2 cup milk (my on hand ingredients). I also used butter instead of oil. Although the pans were oiled and nonstick pans, there was still an issue with depanning--the bottom layer of each cake layer just did not want to release. I ended up with, well, with a chocolate bomb. It tried falling part, so I used the frosting like glue. Other than that, great tasting cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Dawn

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
BEST recipe EVER!! LOVED THE CAKE!! It was light, moist and delicious! Make sure you use the parchment paper, I only used in on one pan and the one I didn't was very messy to get the cake out of. I made a ganache for the frosting though as I don't like the regular butter cream style. PERFECT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
Amazing!! I halved the recipe and used brewed coffee in place of boiled water, then I made cupcakes instead:) Baked for 20 minutes and they were heavenly! Even after two days, the cupcakes were moist and perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Campbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Vilseck, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,417) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States