Extreme Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
Dangerously delicious chocolate cake! Did not make any alterations to the recipe. Very chocholately and dense. This will be my go to for the holidays. Could not stop eating this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cindysweets

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Batter seems soupy but turns out as moist as box cake. I have never had a cake disappear so fast!! It's a chocolate lovers dream cake!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
I loved this recipe! Even though it's a bit rich, it's the best chocolate cake I ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
I will be honest. I have not made this recipe as written. I used Hershey's Special Dark Chocolate instead of regular cocoa powder and also add 2 tablespoonful of instant espresso. The cake comes out very dark with a rich/complex flavor that everyone loves. I am always asked to make the cake 'exactly like last time'. I also use a cream cheese frosting (from Allrecipes), that I add 1/2 cup of dark chocolate powder and 1 tablespoonful of espresso. In the center of the two layers I use a small container of raspberries with a small jar of rasperry jam and pulse it in a processor where it's still a little 'lumpy'. It cuts the sweetness of the jam and makes it taste more 'natural/fresh'. I add as much as I feel necessary between the cake layers. I use the leftover jam mixture to add to my oatmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Art Solanes
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
My kids love this cake and the frosting too ! I have tried it twice and did not have any of the failures that some of the reviewers did. I am not an experienced baker so I try to follow the instructions exactly. 30 minutes in my oven using Wilton pans, which are not expensive, is perfect. The cake is very moist so you DO need to let it cool at least 10 or 20 minutes before taking them out of the pans. I went around the edges with a sharp knife before trying to remove them to cool more. I elevate my cooling rack to let it cool better also. Have a cup of hot water to dip your frosting knife in. The frosting is fairly thick. Do not panick after adding and mixing the boiling water. It looks very soupy but ends up great. It is not a light fluffy cake. It is dense and moist. Very flavorful. I also have not had problems with it spilling over the cake pans. I don't know what is causing that problem for people. You will have leftover frosting if you aren't cutting them to make a 4 layer cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
The cake is very easy to make and is very moist! I topped with vanilla buttercream instead. It disappeared quickly at our church dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JC Cooks
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
I just made this cake tonight for my sons 13th birthday, and I must say it was amazing! The only changes I made were I substituted the milk for half and half, the oil for applesauce, and the water for fresh coffee. I greased and floured the pans and added a liner of parchment paper at the bottom. The cakes came out easily and beautifully. For a little fancy pants-ness, I grated hershey cholate bar on top. My son thinks I'm amazing now, btw. The last chcocolate cake I made was an utter disaster, but this cake has restored my faith in coco cakes. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
Hugely popular and easy to make. I have requests for it from people who are far better cooks than I. Used the satiny chocolate glaze recipe (doubled) and made the cake in a bundt pan as thats all I have. All good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tim

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
Delicious! I needed a chocolate cake recipe for a bake sale at school. Followed this one to a T, but made it into cake pops, cupcakes and mini cupcakes. Wow! I wouldn't change a thing. This is now my go to recipe for chocolate cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
I must have done something wrong. My cupcakes sank in the middle, crunchy on the top, and crumbled. I followed the recipe as written. I thought the taste was bland, but I didn't make the frosting. My husband compared it to a Western Family cake mix. All I can figure is I did something wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLBOOTH

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,343) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States