Extreme Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by AuntE
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
Cured my chocolate craving for sure!!! I substituted 1/2 of sugar with honey, and used applesauce for the oil. The cake was very moist. Loved the sweet frosting. Baked right at estimated time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
HOLY COW THIS IS GOOD! In the past I have tried SO many cakes and they all turned out the same way, crumbly, stick to the pan, tasting gross, etc. But then I saw this AWESOME recipe and it worked out PERFECT probably the best I have EVER made! Not only is this the best cake you will ever try, but it is the easiest cake you will make…ever!! I would rate this 500 stars if I could!!! Thanks so much for sharing this AWESOME recipe!! I look forward to making it again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lizzy B.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
This cake is the BEST chocolate cake my family has ever had. We are extreme chocoholics here and this was perfect as-is. We followed the recipe to the T and got a perfect cake that was gone quickly! I'm actually getting ready to make another one right now. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
This is seriously the best cake recipe ever. I couldn't believe how easy it was and I was actually pretty concerned by the batter but OH EM GEE. It was moist and amazing. If you sift the flour and the cocoa powder, it makes it extra fluffy. Make sure your pan isn't too deep or it'll take a long time to bake and it won't be as good. Spreading it into two pans works nicely. It also makes really great cupcakes too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah L

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
This recipe has a great taste, but the batter leaves a lot to be desired, it is so runny. I followed the directions to a T but for some reason the cake is still incredibly runny. It has now been in the oven for an hour and a half and the center is completely raw. I am terribly disappointed and worried that this cake is not going to turn out good. I'm thinking that if it ever cooks its going to have the consistency of a brownie rather than the traditional fluffiness of a cake :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jazmin nelson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
I am amazed at how good this cake is! I bake cakes for friends, family, and random people who ask me to do it (I've become well known for my decorating). This is THE BEST chocolate cake I have ever found!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katherine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pagettgirl
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
WONDERFUL! Followed directions except 1c coffee instead of water and was a little concerned about how thin the batter was but saw a lot of others said it was thin which was fine. Just really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pagettgirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
So, accidentally, I did not put in any hot water. I was scared at first, but it turned out AMAZING and EXTREMELY RICH. My friends are absolutely obsessed. I am not saying to not follow the recipe, but try it without water to have an almost fudgey, delicious, rich chocolate cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kayla Nicole

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
Absolutely amazing! My wife is a hard critic of my baking and cooking which is great because it allows me to tweak and improve so everything is great but this cake was awesome from the start! The only difference I make is a tiny bit more milk in the frosting and mix it for about 10 seconds on a higher speed to lighten it up and make it easier to spread. Other than that I reccomend this cake to anyone who loves chocolate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
This is the best recipe I have converted to gluten free. I used Jules gluten free flour, and decreased the boiling water to 3/4 cup. It was wonderful, my family loved it. Couldn't even tell it was gluten free.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,291) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States