Extreme Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
This review is just based on the cake. Followed the recipe exactly and just sifted dry ingredients together before adding mixed wet ingredients. Beat together with hand mixer only until well combined and then mix in hot water manually. The cake was so incredibly moist my husband said it was the best cake I've ever made and I bake often. I made a light peanut butter frosting and a chocolate ganache on top instead of this frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Milford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: West New York, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
Yummo! I used raw sugar instead of white and a cup of boiling coffee instead of water...it was delicious. Certainly a very runny, soupy mix but the end result is fudgy, moist and very, very moreish. I didn't ice it, just dusted it with icing sugar, it's quite sweet and chocolately anyway so we found that this was more than adequate to finish it. My friend (himself a big sweet tooth and a great baker) thought it was the best chocolate cake he had ever had-that's massive props!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Germaine Srhoy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
I am going to make this for my brother because he is purely awesome. I will be using the ganache for this, however. I will post pictures and let y'all know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
This is a delicious chocolate cake perfect for any chocolate lover. I was making it for a party and everyone loved it! I upped the cocoa to 1 cup which made it that much better. The batter will be runny, don't worry. It turns out perfect in the end!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
I've made this cake exactly as written and it was good. I also made it with coffee in place of the water and that is the trick to making it out of this world good. It bakes up beautifully in 25 minutes. Add some homemade cream cheese frosting and you'll never go back to the boxed mixes. Delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
This is a great cake! 10xs better than a cake box! What was so surprising was that it is so moist! Like the others said don't worry if it is runny when you bake it just be sure it is completely done when you take it out and let is sit for more like 30 mins to an hour to be sure it is completely cooled! Love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by william vest

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CoraGregory
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
This was surely a CHOCOLATE CAKE.. it was more bitter than sweet but I used this cake and icing to make the m&M and kitkat cake. The M&M and KitKat are so sweet that it compliments this cake perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kathy LaRue
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
I'm not sure what I did wrong. I waited over an hour to take the cakes out of their pans. A few small pieces of cake came off which wouldn't have been a big deal but when I tried to frost it chunks started to break off. I left it alone in hopes that it wouldn't get any worse but the cake actually split in places from the weight of the frosting. I've had cakes come out not looking picture perfect before but this was ridiculous. The cake and the frosting both tasted great...but it looked like a natural disaster. Maybe someone else can explain how to avoid this outcome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy LaRue

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
There needs to be at least 100 stars. It's the best homemade chocolate cake you'll ever make. The frosting is more difficult to make than the cake, only because it's so thick (and heavenly). I also use 2, 9-inch cake pans AND I use parchment paper to line the bottom of them, then spray them (just set the pans on top of your parchment paper, and trace the bottom of the pan onto the parchment using a pencil. Then cut out and line your pan.) I don't have to flour them. After I remove them from the oven and they've cooled about 10 minutes, I simply use a sharp knife to run around the edges, put a plate over the top, flip them, and then peel the parchment off the bottom. They come out clean and beautiful every time. I don't split the layers, but I puts gobs of frosting in between the two layers, over the top, and all over the sides. I always have frosting left. People will talk about this cake for years, and they'll want you to make it for every event. This is my youngest child's yearly birthday cake. His friends even told their moms about this cake, so all of my girlfriends made me make it for them! Truly an amazing recipe. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
OMG! This was just delicious and boy did my boyfriend love it! Yes, it was watery and I did worry when I poured the batter into the pans. But it was awesome and my boyfriend is already asking when I will make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazychick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,306) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States