Extreme Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
I made this twice I wasn't sure I wanted to make a cake with boiled water but WOW super moist and fluffy delicious the frosting was a bit too sweet but the cake YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
Yummy! Super moist and yummy! Kids loved it, hubby loved it, and of course me, the chocoholic loved it. I agree with another reader that said to wait more than 10 minutes. Of course, I forgot to put the parchment paper but it still came out nicely after about 15 minutes. I cut the sugar in the cake a little bit (about 1 1/2 cups) and it was still just as yummy. Yup, yummy summarizes my review
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
The best chocolate cake I have ever tasted! I made this for my son's second birthday and we gobbled it all up in a few days. So rich! I am going to make this again, for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
This is absolutely the best chocolate cake I have ever had - hands down!! I used a 9"x13" glass bakeware dish, all of the batter, cooked 30 minutes, and ... Presto!! Great cake!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
Dangerously delicious chocolate cake! Did not make any alterations to the recipe. Very chocholately and dense. This will be my go to for the holidays. Could not stop eating this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cindysweets

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Batter seems soupy but turns out as moist as box cake. I have never had a cake disappear so fast!! It's a chocolate lovers dream cake!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
I loved this recipe! Even though it's a bit rich, it's the best chocolate cake I ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
I will be honest. I have not made this recipe as written. I used Hershey's Special Dark Chocolate instead of regular cocoa powder and also add 2 tablespoonful of instant espresso. The cake comes out very dark with a rich/complex flavor that everyone loves. I am always asked to make the cake 'exactly like last time'. I also use a cream cheese frosting (from Allrecipes), that I add 1/2 cup of dark chocolate powder and 1 tablespoonful of espresso. In the center of the two layers I use a small container of raspberries with a small jar of rasperry jam and pulse it in a processor where it's still a little 'lumpy'. It cuts the sweetness of the jam and makes it taste more 'natural/fresh'. I add as much as I feel necessary between the cake layers. I use the leftover jam mixture to add to my oatmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Art Solanes
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
My kids love this cake and the frosting too ! I have tried it twice and did not have any of the failures that some of the reviewers did. I am not an experienced baker so I try to follow the instructions exactly. 30 minutes in my oven using Wilton pans, which are not expensive, is perfect. The cake is very moist so you DO need to let it cool at least 10 or 20 minutes before taking them out of the pans. I went around the edges with a sharp knife before trying to remove them to cool more. I elevate my cooling rack to let it cool better also. Have a cup of hot water to dip your frosting knife in. The frosting is fairly thick. Do not panick after adding and mixing the boiling water. It looks very soupy but ends up great. It is not a light fluffy cake. It is dense and moist. Very flavorful. I also have not had problems with it spilling over the cake pans. I don't know what is causing that problem for people. You will have leftover frosting if you aren't cutting them to make a 4 layer cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
The cake is very easy to make and is very moist! I topped with vanilla buttercream instead. It disappeared quickly at our church dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,327) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States