Extreme Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
great cake! Moist and delicious! I had to adjust a little because I live above 7000 feet, but otherwise a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
Made this cake and it was great. Great flavor. I read the reviews before baking and made sure the cake was fully cooled for 20 mins or longer to make sure that it was firm and cooled down enough for me to start splitting the cake in half. I also changed up the cake a bit by adding cream cheese to the frosting and I used 1/2 of cup of Special Dark chocolate instead of usual unsweetened cocoa powder. Made the frosting really dark and perfect. It was the perfect chocolate cake for my friend's birthday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KevinBerry7406
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
Fantastic chocolate cake!! I made the cake exactly the way the author wrote and it was super moist and very, very tasty (almost brownie consistency). I used a different frosting, so I can't comment on that. This is one cake that I'll be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KevinBerry7406

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
This was the best chocolate cake ever! So moist and delicious. I made this for my husband's birthday and he loved it! Will definitely make again, highly recommend you try this recipe - you will look no further for a chocolate cake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
I admit, I have never made a from scratch cake batter. I made this as cupcakes for a birthday party with a soy allergy and celiac's for another person. I substituted the following: coconut oil instead of vegetable, and with gluten-free flour, and just plain old forgot to use boiled water, so it was just regular water. It turned out amazing!!! I added soy-free chocolate chunks too (which I think were the special touch that won everyone over). I didn't follow the icing recipe as I was also making gingerbread cupcakes and wanted it vanilla flavour, so just added cocoa when I was done with that. Divine. They were a massive hit. And as you guessed- everyone could enjoy them! (thankfully no egg allergies!!!) Will be using this recipe again :) If you're interested in doing them cupcake style: I was a bit worried they would stick to the cupcake liners, but they came out just fine with minimal cake loss! Now, I can't guarantee it for everyone as I used a gluten free flour, but I'd risk it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
this review is only for the cake part of the recipe. the cake turned out delicious! it was moist and fluffy, and not too sweet at all. Like some other reviewers said though, this recipe is actually from the back of the Hershey's unsweetened cocoa powder box. i think the next time, i will try substituting the boiling water for coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mariathechef
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
The batter for this cake was so delicious!!! Literally left a lot of it to lick! Only concern is that it was spongey, probably because of my ingredients (expired, etc.). Other than that, I really enjoyed this cake and the easy recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
Awesome! be sure and do it with the coffee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
Amazingly chocolatety and super moist! This will be my go to chocolate cake recipe from now on
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebekah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Made it for a 4 year olds birthday and it was a hit! It seemed a bit rich so I gave very small slices. I had too much frosting though. I then made cupcakes and made 24 which were quite large. Great recipe. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States