Extreme Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2015
THIS IS THE HERSHEY'S CHOCOLATE CAKE RECIEPE, NO CHANGES~LOOK ON THE BACK ON HERSHEYS COCO!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2015
I don't know what I did wrong, but this cake did turn out for me at all. The cake bubbled over and burned up in the bottom of my oven, causing the oven to smoke and smell terrible (now I have to clean my oven), the cake was so sticky is would not come out of the pans even though I greased and floured them liberally. I had to take the cake out in pieces, break it up, press it into a glass dish, and try to make a trifle out of it. The trifle tastes good but I would never use this recipe again. Also, the frosting calls for WAY too much cocoa powder. I used about half the amount and it is so rich we can barely eat it. I give it two stars because I think this may be good as a bundt or pound cake and it may work out if you don't have to take it out halfway through to wipe out your oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2015
What a great easy to make moist cake! This recipe is a definite keeper! Thank you for sharing it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2015
This is the perfect cake for a celebration! Just reduce the sugar in the frosting just a little, other than that...PERFECTION!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evanston, Illinois, USA
Living In: Hiram, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2015
Wonderful cake!!! No complaints! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnyaSmith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evanston, Illinois, USA
Living In: Hiram, Georgia, USA
Photo by bcole09
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2015
I made this cake for my husband's birthday. He loves ice cream cakes so I put ice cream between the two layers. He loved it! Next time I make it I will try it with the coffee instead of water like someone suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2015
Made this cake today for husbands birthday. I have tried many homemade cakes before and this is by far the best. We did not want to stop eating it. Adding the water makes it this super fudgey like texture once baked and it is absolutely wonderful!! This will now be our go to chocolate cake recipe! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2015
Absolutely the moistest chocolate cake I've ever tasted. The icing was creamy goodness and not too sweet. I made this in 3 layers and froze them after cooling, for a month before frosting and it was still the best cake my family had had. Am making it for my daughter's wedding cake. Only + was a bit of salt to the icing along with regular salted butter, to cut the sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Isaac Hamm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2015
Easily THE BEST chocolate cake I've ever had. So moist, rich and decadent. The only thing I changed was dropped the sugar from 2 cups down to 1 1/2 cups. I made it in a bundt pan and baked for 37 minutes or so. I aso think you can get away with making half the icing, especially if not icing between any layers. So amazing. Does anyone know if you can transform this recipe into an amazing white cake by omitting the cocoa?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2015
I have made this recipe at least Five times now, there is never any left. Everyone loves it, super moist and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,432) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States