Extreme Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2015
Flavor is very good HOWEVER WAAAY TOO DENSE. Texture is like a brownie. Won't make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2015
I have now made this recipe several times. I've followed the recipe as is and it is absolutely the best chocolate cake I've ever had. My family of chocoholics requests this cake often. Love, love, love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wilddelightskat
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2015
Easy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2015
This is the same recipe on the Hersey's cocoa container, my favorite cake when I was a kid. Glad its on the site gotta make it for my son's birthday but I wanted to cut the recipe in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2015
Used Dutch cocoa. Absolutely delicious, moist, chocolatey, and totally amazing! Careful not to underbake- i used to bake my old recipe a few minutes less to keep it more gooey. This recipe does not need that. It's plenty gooey and will be raw if underbaked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2015
I was hesitant because I'm more used to using butter than oil but this cake is delicious...it is super moist! perfect for chocolate lovers! I made 2 layers instead of 4, that was the only change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2015
This is one of the best chocolate cakes I've ever made. I used water instead of the milk (lots of food allergies in the family) and it turned out great. I also used a full cup of cacao instead of 3/4. The cake was a rich, dark chocolate. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2015
Very dry!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Florence, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tia
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2015
Not as moist as I'd hoped, still a good cake though, quite crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2015
I don't know what I did wrong, but this cake did turn out for me at all. The cake bubbled over and burned up in the bottom of my oven, causing the oven to smoke and smell terrible (now I have to clean my oven), the cake was so sticky is would not come out of the pans even though I greased and floured them liberally. I had to take the cake out in pieces, break it up, press it into a glass dish, and try to make a trifle out of it. The trifle tastes good but I would never use this recipe again. Also, the frosting calls for WAY too much cocoa powder. I used about half the amount and it is so rich we can barely eat it. I give it two stars because I think this may be good as a bundt or pound cake and it may work out if you don't have to take it out halfway through to wipe out your oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,440) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States