Extreme Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
This was my first successful chocolate cake and it was absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
A must try. By far, our favorite chocolate cake ! Made one for work, while it was baking it smelled so good I made a second for home. A winner all over ! And it was one of the easiest cakes to mix I've made. It baked so flat I didn't have to even off the tops of any of the layers. Made the frosting with it and was great also. A complete duo. Followed other review and let the layers cool longer. It is worth the wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
This is an amazing chocolate cake... very soft and moist. Make sure that the cake is completely cooled (at least 20 mins) before removing from the pan(s). I make a double layered 9 inch cake.. there is some left over frosting. Highly recommend this cake... its easy and a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenni Cushing Pennino

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Plainfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by miss miller
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
Great! I love it. Too much frosting though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
Great cake all together! Very moist. I did the hot coffee instead of boiling water...love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
this is the best cake I have ever had. I made it for mothers day and she and everyone else loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
I made this cake for my daughter's birthday & it was amazing!! I thought I ruined it because it was too liquidity after adding the boiling water. I didn't follow instructions, I continued to use the mixer instead of mixing it by hand. But, the cake still came out delicious!! I will definitely be making it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Akiona

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
This was a good recipe .Another good recipe is too much chocolate cake. I turned it into cupcakes. The baking time for cupcakes is 20-25 min. The too much chocolate cupcakes were 200000000000 times better than this recipe, but this recipe was still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
Overly sweet icing. The cake was good. I made it as directed with the one exception of adding coffee instead of water. The cake part of this dessert was good but I have made better recipes that I have ran accross. The icing had a good texture and was easily spreadable. I did have to add extra milk because it was very dense. My beef with the icing was it was TOO much. I started to follow my instinct and use only half the coco but I then second guessed myself on the wet to dry ratio and used it as instructed. The icing was EXTREMELY rich and that is said with a huge sweet tooth of my own. Cut back on the coco powder and it may be more to my liking. It is worthy of tweaking in the future to come up with a better less "extreme" icing. It was so rich it was almost uneatable. I will stick with another cake recipe that my family enjoyed more. The icing has potential but not "as is". It wasn't a complete birthday cake flop, but there will be left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
I have been making this cake for several years now and it's the absolute best chocolate cake I've ever tasted. I've never tried it with coffee, though, so the next time I make it I'll try that innovation. One note, however. Rach56 should have properly attributed this recipe. If you look on the back of the Hershey's cocoa container, it is exactly the same recipe. Maybe Rach56 didn't know about this, but there it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,302) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States