Extreme Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
This is THE best chocolate cake I have ever made. The frosting is phenomenal and the texture of the cake is just perfect. People can't stop raving about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Photo by khc2219
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
I baked this cake exactly by the recipe with the exception of using buttermilk in lieu of regular milk. It was not as moist as I expected and didn't have much flavor. I will be searching for a different recipe. My co-workers liked it so that's why it got 3 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by khc2219

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
best chocolate cake recipe ever! Tastes amazing and is super easy to do. Been using this recipe for years!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
This review is just based on the cake. Followed the recipe exactly and just sifted dry ingredients together before adding mixed wet ingredients. Beat together with hand mixer only until well combined and then mix in hot water manually. The cake was so incredibly moist my husband said it was the best cake I've ever made and I bake often. I made a light peanut butter frosting and a chocolate ganache on top instead of this frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Milford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: West New York, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
Yummo! I used raw sugar instead of white and a cup of boiling coffee instead of water...it was delicious. Certainly a very runny, soupy mix but the end result is fudgy, moist and very, very moreish. I didn't ice it, just dusted it with icing sugar, it's quite sweet and chocolately anyway so we found that this was more than adequate to finish it. My friend (himself a big sweet tooth and a great baker) thought it was the best chocolate cake he had ever had-that's massive props!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Germaine Srhoy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
This is a delicious chocolate cake perfect for any chocolate lover. I was making it for a party and everyone loved it! I upped the cocoa to 1 cup which made it that much better. The batter will be runny, don't worry. It turns out perfect in the end!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
I've made this cake exactly as written and it was good. I also made it with coffee in place of the water and that is the trick to making it out of this world good. It bakes up beautifully in 25 minutes. Add some homemade cream cheese frosting and you'll never go back to the boxed mixes. Delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angelique76

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
This is a great cake! 10xs better than a cake box! What was so surprising was that it is so moist! Like the others said don't worry if it is runny when you bake it just be sure it is completely done when you take it out and let is sit for more like 30 mins to an hour to be sure it is completely cooled! Love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by william vest

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CoraGregory
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
This was surely a CHOCOLATE CAKE.. it was more bitter than sweet but I used this cake and icing to make the m&M and kitkat cake. The M&M and KitKat are so sweet that it compliments this cake perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy LaRue
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
I'm not sure what I did wrong. I waited over an hour to take the cakes out of their pans. A few small pieces of cake came off which wouldn't have been a big deal but when I tried to frost it chunks started to break off. I left it alone in hopes that it wouldn't get any worse but the cake actually split in places from the weight of the frosting. I've had cakes come out not looking picture perfect before but this was ridiculous. The cake and the frosting both tasted great...but it looked like a natural disaster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy LaRue

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 1,346) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States