Extreme Banana Nut Bread 'EBNB' Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
it is the best receipe for BNB I,ve found,,although I do use half white/half brown sugar and ADD 1 teaspoon of baking powder to make it rise better,,,,once I make a loaf my husband wants it all the time so now I double it the first time,,,,keeps me out of the kitchen for a day anyway,lol,,,bobbie gail h.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
This recipe is awesome! This is real banana nut bread the kind my mother made! For those who don't make banana recipes, make sure your bananas are over ripe (the skin should be turning brown this will give you the best flavor). The only things I did different is I added 1 teaspoon of vanilla, than to the dry ingredients I added 1/2 tsp of baking powder and 2 tsps of cinnamon and substituted 1 cup of white sugar for brown sugar, and I mixed it different. If you bake a lot you will know this, in a large bowl cream your butter and sugar first than add your eggs and beat until creamy than add the bananas, vanilla and mix until blended! Make sure you combined all the dry ingredients together than add it to the banana mixture until well blended than stir in your nuts. I baked them in the two pans but at 325 for 55 minutes and they came out prefect! If you use mini pans I might even lower my oven to 310 and bake less time. Changing your tempeture and time will keep your bread from over cooking which will make your bread too dry. I am sure this recipe would be prefect the way it is, but I remember the things my mother used so that's way I made the changes!!! This is the best recipe I have found since I lost my mother recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
Yum!!!! Very moist and delicious. I will not use another recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
I just made this recipe as 2 dozen muffins with pecans, allspice, and about 3/4 cup of chopped dates I needed to use up added. I made a terrible mistake in that I ate one just now. All I can think about is that a big glass of wine and 2 or 3 more muffins sounds like a terrific supper tonight. Fabulous recipe. I need to put most of them away in the spare freezer for my husband's morning coffee treats before I grow clean out of my fat pants over them. Tastes uncannily like my late grandmother's nut bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
This recipe is exactly what i was looking for!. A not good for you but crowd pleaser dense bread. I added 1/2 tsp cinnamon & 1 tsp vanilla. That's it. And if I didn't have that, it would still come out awesome. I tried making it once with half brown sugar and half white sugar, it was much better with all white sugar. Baked for 55 minutes in 2 loaf pans (even though i only had 1.5 cups of banana. Got very brown on the outside, which had me scared but no worries, cuz it was excellent. Made in 2 loaf pans. Don't let the bananas get too dark. This was a hit!!! PS: Some ppl assume brown sugar is better for you than white sugar. It's not. Brown sugar is white sugar with molasses added to it. From a health stand point sugar is sugar, so might as well go white ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
The most fabulous banana nut bread ever!! Made it for Thanksgiving and was a huge hit! I also reduced the temp to 335 for the last 10 minutes of cooking and came out great! I used 1/2 tsp of baking soda along with 1 cup of brown and one cup of white sugar. Incredible as French toast too the next morning! Jess
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
I followed the directions, ans was very pleased with the results. Next time, I will lower the temperature to 325, because I used glass loaf pans. Also, a little vanilla, cinnamon, and baking powder might improve the flavor & texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
I used half butter and half margarine, used sea salt instead of granular, used all brown sugar as well as half and half, as well as white only This recipe is basically fool proof. just start creaming butter and sugar first. Best bread ever- husband eats one loaf before it is even out of the pan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I've made a lot of banana nut bread because it's my son's favorite and this is the best one I have ever made! It is moist and the outside is crusty and delicious. I made it in a tube pan because I didn't have 2 loaf pans. This is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
The best banana bread ever. Threw away the recipe I had for years. The hardest part about making it is making sure I don't eat it all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 1,390) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States