Extreme Banana Nut Bread 'EBNB' Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
This recipe EASILY gets 5 stars from me. It's perfect in every way. So buttery, nutty, and rich! I have to give half of it away so I don't wind up eating it all myself. I tweaked the recipe to my liking a tad: split the sugar in half equally with white and light brown sugar. Added a tsp of good vanilla extract, and a tsp of ground cinnamon. Also, added about another cup of chopped walnuts. Didn't want the rest of the bag going to waste, and who doesn't like more walnuts? I probably ended up adding an extra quarter cup of mashed bananas. Had a two left I didn't want to waste. Gave the loaves a turn half way through cooking for a more even bake. All in all, I won't be using any other recipe for banana nut bread. The boyfriend is in LOVE with it, and he doesn't like banana bread! Highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay Anderson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
I love this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tia Howell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
Very easy, very delicious!!! Perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
OUTSTANDING...one of the best banana breads. I did add 1 tsp. vanilla and use 1 1/2 cup sugar and 1/2 light brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RoxanneG

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
This recipe has WAAYYY too much baking soda. Baking time was about 45 minutes, and even then it was too brown, almost burnt,(and i baked them in Air Bake muffin pans). Awfully greasy too. I don't understand why you wouldn't add some baking powder to give it a little rise. Cut out some of the butter, and maybe add some buttermilk. Anyone who thinks this a good recipe hasn't had a good banana nut bread. Very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
Awesome just as recipe says. No needs to add or subtract!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
The bread did not rise right. I had a big sink hole in the center.Otherwise we ate around the edges and that tasted good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
I'm not sure how the recipe "as is" might turn out. I was not inclined to make the bread until I read some of the reviews. With the changes, it was totally deee-licious. I creamed the sugars and butter; added 1 tsp. of baking powder; split sugars between granulated and brown; added eggs one at a time, blending after each one; used a very full 2 c. of banana (I freeze bananas that have gone ripe----in their skins); Added dry ingredients about 2 cups at a time on blend speed of my blender; I used my blender throughout. Stirred in one cup chopped walnuts. It turned out so great that I can't stop eating it. Was a huge success at a meeting I just hosted. Thanks for a great start with the original ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
I rarely leave a review but wanted to comment that this recipe, as bare bones as it appears, is absolutely perfect just as written. It does not need any vanilla or cinnamon competing with the divine flavor of buttery nutty bananas. The texture of these loaves really separate them from other recipes I have tried. It truly is the best in my opinion. I have made it many times and it is the only BNB I will ever make. THANKS for sharing this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,454) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States