Extreme Banana Nut Bread 'EBNB' Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2004
Great Banana Nut Bread. Tastes Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2004
This is a great recipe for banana bread! What I love about it is its intense flavor. It's is unlike most banana breads in that it is very dense and quite moist. You can taste the butter in this bread along with the bananas--it practically melts in your mouth! My house smelled so YUMMY as the loaves baked. My family and I went through both loaves in just two days. Caution! It is highly addicting and hard to stay away from! The only changes I made to this recipe were #1. I added 2 tsp. vanilla #2. I used chopped pecans instead of walnuts & #3. I baked for 55 minutes instead of 60-70 minutes (this would have overcooked/burned the loaves)I have a 4 year old oven that bakes evenly/accurately. I would check the loaves of bread at 55 minutes before allowing them to cook any longer. This recipe easily earns 5 stars! My kids & hubby can't wait for the bananas to over-ripen! It would be hard to flub this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
545 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2004
OH MY GOSH...this recipe is LETHAL. Heed all warnings...it IS addicting. I also added a little vanilla extract and used chopped pecans instead of walnuts *southerners don't do walnuts, we do pecans*...I have grown up on banana nut bread but this one is the best by far. I used half butter and half oil, but think next time, will just use all butter. It's TO DIE FOR YAWL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2004
This is by far the best recipe I have ever tried, both my husband and I agree on this. Not only that, but it was fast and easy to make too. Thanks for passing it along!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2004
FINALLY! Someone who KNOWS what banana nut bread is supposed to be! Like others, I added 1/2 tsp baking powder, used half white and half dark brown sugar, and used pecans instead of walnuts. This is JUST LIKE MOMS! Thank you so much! I had tried two other recipes from this website and they turned out to be more like banana nut dessert cake, THIS is banana nut bread, it has substance! I used 3x8 loaf pans (it filled them just right), reduced the temp to 325, and cooked for about 70 minutes. They were a little too brown on the top, but that's just my bad electric oven, the humidity, and the combo of unbleached flour and dark brown sugar most likely. Mom would be proud of this bread! If you want something healthy to snack on, eat a luna bar, if you want something tasty, eat this bread! PS: If anyone wants to save a bowl and skip a step, I just mixed the wet mix as directed, then dumped the salt, baking soda, baking powder, and flour on top and mixed it all in at once. It turned out FINE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
792 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2004
Holy Moly!! This was too good!! I was skeptical of the description and reviews so I had to make it to see what all the fuss was about...and now I know!! I can never make this again because I ate too much of it!! I made one loaf with nuts (pecans) and one with out nuts (I preferred the one with out nuts). Both loaves were beyond excellent!! The sweet butter and banana taste was delicious! I followed the advise of another reviewer and baked the bread for 55 minutes, which was just right. Forget your diet for a couple of hours so you can enjoy this yummy yummy bread!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2004
"this is the best banana bread you have ever made" said my husband. i have to agree - this was amazing and so easy. the only thing i did different was to roast the walnuts before adding to the batter. i do have to add a #6 to the tips list - do not make right after having the flu and barely eating for 5 days - yep - that was me - my family doesn't know that this recipe made 2 loaves!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2004
WOW!!! This was better than the usual bread I make. We finished one loaf for desert and the other loaf was cut up for everones lunch the next day. I have to find more over-ripe bananas so I can make more. I used pecans and added vanilla as suggested. Thanks SASEIGEL for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2004
very good recipe. did someone forget to use baking powder? i added 1 teaspoonful to recipe and it was excellent. i also added 1 teaspoonful of vanilla extract, but can't say it really improves recipe. using butter instead of shortening or oil makes my old recipe obsolete.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2004
This was hands down the best banana nut bread I have ever made or eaten Thanks for the great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,415) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States