Extreme Banana Nut Bread 'EBNB' Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2004
Great Banana Nut Bread. Tastes Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2004
This is a great recipe for banana bread! What I love about it is its intense flavor. It's is unlike most banana breads in that it is very dense and quite moist. You can taste the butter in this bread along with the bananas--it practically melts in your mouth! My house smelled so YUMMY as the loaves baked. My family and I went through both loaves in just two days. Caution! It is highly addicting and hard to stay away from! The only changes I made to this recipe were #1. I added 2 tsp. vanilla #2. I used chopped pecans instead of walnuts & #3. I baked for 55 minutes instead of 60-70 minutes (this would have overcooked/burned the loaves)I have a 4 year old oven that bakes evenly/accurately. I would check the loaves of bread at 55 minutes before allowing them to cook any longer. This recipe easily earns 5 stars! My kids & hubby can't wait for the bananas to over-ripen! It would be hard to flub this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
558 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2004
This is by far the best recipe I have ever tried, both my husband and I agree on this. Not only that, but it was fast and easy to make too. Thanks for passing it along!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2004
OH MY GOSH...this recipe is LETHAL. Heed all warnings...it IS addicting. I also added a little vanilla extract and used chopped pecans instead of walnuts *southerners don't do walnuts, we do pecans*...I have grown up on banana nut bread but this one is the best by far. I used half butter and half oil, but think next time, will just use all butter. It's TO DIE FOR YAWL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2004
Holy Moly!! This was too good!! I was skeptical of the description and reviews so I had to make it to see what all the fuss was about...and now I know!! I can never make this again because I ate too much of it!! I made one loaf with nuts (pecans) and one with out nuts (I preferred the one with out nuts). Both loaves were beyond excellent!! The sweet butter and banana taste was delicious! I followed the advise of another reviewer and baked the bread for 55 minutes, which was just right. Forget your diet for a couple of hours so you can enjoy this yummy yummy bread!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2004
"this is the best banana bread you have ever made" said my husband. i have to agree - this was amazing and so easy. the only thing i did different was to roast the walnuts before adding to the batter. i do have to add a #6 to the tips list - do not make right after having the flu and barely eating for 5 days - yep - that was me - my family doesn't know that this recipe made 2 loaves!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2004
I halved this recipe since I only wanted 1 loaf. I used sliced almonds because that is what I had. The bread was flat & not very thick.( not much batter ) I thought the taste was fair. I have other banana bread recipes that are better. I LOVE how you submitted your recipe, however!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2004
This is a wonderful recipe. I like that it makes 2 breads. Very moist and delicious. I used light olive oil in place of the butter. Will definitely make this again and again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2004
I tried this recipe because I couldn't find my mother's recipe. Although different than what I expected, I would definitely make it again. Yumm!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2004
Wow, this stuff is unbelievable! I took it out of the oven at 9pm, and by 9:15, half the loaf was gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,443) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States