Extreme Banana Nut Bread 'EBNB' Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
I'm not sure how the recipe "as is" might turn out. I was not inclined to make the bread until I read some of the reviews. With the changes, it was totally deee-licious. I creamed the sugars and butter; added 1 tsp. of baking powder; split sugars between granulated and brown; added eggs one at a time, blending after each one; used a very full 2 c. of banana (I freeze bananas that have gone ripe----in their skins); Added dry ingredients about 2 cups at a time on blend speed of my blender; I used my blender throughout. Stirred in one cup chopped walnuts. It turned out so great that I can't stop eating it. Was a huge success at a meeting I just hosted. Thanks for a great start with the original ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
I rarely leave a review but wanted to comment that this recipe, as bare bones as it appears, is absolutely perfect just as written. It does not need any vanilla or cinnamon competing with the divine flavor of buttery nutty bananas. The texture of these loaves really separate them from other recipes I have tried. It truly is the best in my opinion. I have made it many times and it is the only BNB I will ever make. THANKS for sharing this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
Cream the butter and sugar prior to mixing. Bread was delicious and very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annath

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
This recipe was very good!! this was my first attempt at making banana nut bread and it was a success! For the most part I followed the recipe while also taking advice from previous reviewers. Instead of 2cups of white sugar I use 1 cup of white and 1cup brown sugar. I also added 2tsp of vanilla but other than that it was terrific! My husband did not like banana nut bread but he does now lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
I used Baking Powder instead of Baking Soda and added 1 tsp vanilla and a few shakes of cinnamon and it came out great. HOWEVER, I screwed up and realized after it was in the oven that I only added TWO EGGS, not FOUR! Silly Me. It still came out great! And for me it only filled 1 cake pan, so I just have 1 big loaf of goodness. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky1234

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
This has been the best I've come across. Instead of butter I used 8 oz of applesauce to be on the healthier side. I also added 1 tsp of vanilla extract for added flavor. It was super moist and just amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Margerum

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
This is the only banana nut bread recipe I have ever used! It was so good the first time that I never felt the need to stray away. I, too, added a touch of vanilla and I extend the baking time by about 15 minutes. Beautiful! Everyone calls it my 'famous' banana nut bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
Very delicious. Made it last week for the first time and have another baking as I write. If you are looking for a way to get rid of ripe bananas you should really try this recipe. Very moist and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
I could only make one loaf because someone had eaten one of my bananas without telling me. The way that person is eating up said loaf, I'm sure he's now regretting eating my ingredient. I love it because the banana flavor is fresh, yet not overpowering. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
My family went goo goo gaga for what I think is the best tasting banana bread I've ever made or tasted.( sorry Mom ) I used butter flavored shortening,split the sugars,brown and white.I too added 1tsp of cinnamon and vanilla.Next time I'll try it with pecans.I read all the reviews and only cooked the standard size bread pans for 50 min.but my larger bread pan loaf took 60 min Thank-you Saseigel for your mom's recipe and thanks to all the mom's for their ideas.Foot Note: my bread rose just fine... -Desert Rose
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 1,456) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States