Extreme Banana Nut Bread 'EBNB' Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
this is dry and rubbery. I won't be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
I use coconut oil with 1/2 brown/white sugars. Otherwise leave this wonderful recipe as it is. PERFECTION! I love the dark crispy slightly chewy crust. Adds another dimension that other recipes do not have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
EBNB - WOW! This was delicious - heavenly! It was flavorful, very tender (don't over-mix, which causes gluten to form), as well as dense and moist (it is not supposed to rise a lot - like brownies). Creaming the butter and sugar is important for a dense, moist crumb and for a slight rise: when you cream them, they can hold gas that arises from the baking soda. Melted butter will make an even denser bread and cold butter will make it more cake like. I added vanilla (2 tsp) as recommended by other reviewers. I prefer raw granulated sugar to more moist brown sugar for this recipe, which gives it a delightful crisp on the crust. If your bananas are very, very ripe (sweeter and therefore, less acidic), you might get a better rise with baking powder, but you will have to use more (1.5 tsp per cup of flour, or 3 tsp for 2 cups). This was a keeper, and it's hard not to eat the entire loaf in one day. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
This was a very pretty loaf of bread, but it didn't have quite enough flavor. Not sure how I could bump that up...maybe some extracts? It was almost overdone at 50 minutes of baking in dark non-stick pans. So, if your pans are like that, I would check it at 45-50 before letting it bake longer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by awilson614

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cordon-Bleu
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Love this recipe. I made it today and it came out perfectly. I cooked it at 345 degrees for approximately 60 minutes. I sifted the flour 3-5 times because I used all purpose flour. I also used organic walnuts which I had to crush myself. I used the kitchen-aid stand mixer to whisk everything together. I would agree with Virginia Sista that you must cream the butter. Sift the sugar and then add it to the butter. Continue to beat it until it's nice and smooth. Although the ingredients didn't say to do this - I generally cream butter when making pound cake from scratch so I just figured that it would work well in this case. Also I notice that when using the stand mixer that I still have to stop the beating and manually stir the mixture to make sure that there isn't flour sitting at the bottom of the bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Loved this recipe. So moist! Good foundation. I added 1 tsp cinnamon, 1 tsp nutmeg and 1/4 cup oatmeal. I split the sugars 1 cup brown, one cup white, because I was short on white sugar. Also someone else suggested greasing the pan then powdering with cinnamon sugar. That was a delicious idea. Made a flavorful crust. I cut the oven heat to 300 degrees. And baked for 55 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
ALL I CAN SAY IS "HOLY FANTASTIC"..I MADE THIS VERSION OF BANANA BREAD AND IT WAS MY BEST EVER..I HOPE WHEN PPL MAKE BANANA BREAD THEY ARE USING RIPE BANANAS.. I KEEP MINE IN THE FREEZER TIL IM READY TO BAKE WITH THEM, PACKS A WHOLE LOT OF FLAVOR..EXCELLENT RECIPE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
Love this recipe. Easy to make & delicious. Like others who tweak the recipe a little, I used 1 cup applesauce instead of butter or margarine. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
The flavor of the finished product is wonderful, but my loaves fell when they were almost done. I used new baking soda and wonder if it needs some baking powder. It wasn't pretty, but it was tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
AAAAAwesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! This the first time I have ever left a review. I have been cooking and baking since i was young nearly fifty now. Use this site all the time but always end up changing the recipe so much it is hard to rate it with all my changes. Not this one perfect as written. Although mine was done in 45 mins. I have tried alot of other Banana Bread recipes from many different sources as well as this site. They were all edible but nothing great. Don't wast your time with other recipes this is a keeper !!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 1,413) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States