Extreme Banana Nut Bread 'EBNB' Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Monkey03
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
I had an extra banana so I added it and a little extra of each of the other items. I also added a Tsp of vanilla. I cooked only 60 minutes and with the extra batter I made some muffins and cooked a bit less about 20 minutes. They all turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
Amazing & moist. Only changes I made was adding another 1/2 cups of bananas, creaming the butter & sugar then mixing in the eggs one at time, after that I added the bananas, then walnuts, mixed all throughly, finishing with the flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
FABULOUS! The only change I made was 1/2 tsp baking powder, 1 1/2 cups white sugar and `/2 cup brown sugar. Oven set at 325 to start and then halfway through, upped it to 350. Used pecans and baked for 55 minutes. This bread is NOT a high riser, so check after an hour with a cake tester.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne Gillette

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Silver, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Johnsburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
It's very moist & i received lotsa compliments. I followed directions to a T, made 3 loaves ( 1.5 x the recipe) & every single 1 sank down the middle of loaf. What would cause that?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
This recipe is described as a "very flexible" recipe, but it did not take well to baking in muffin tins for 20-25 minutes like most banana bread recipes do. If I had watched the video tips and noticed how very little rise this recipe has, I would not have tried it. The muffins actually sank into the tins! The bottom of each muffin stuck to the tins despite greasing and flouring the tins. And the flavor that everyone is madly raving about? Salt and sugar. This is a very salty, cloyingly sweet banana nut bread. It was moist, and had a nice crunch to the top - for that, the recipe gets two stars. Otherwise it was a waste of good ingredients and I would not bake it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
OMGoodness!!! This is the best ever!!! My husband works out of town 2 weeks at a time and when I go see him I try to bring something homemade for him and his crew. My husband and his buddies beg for this lol. They can't get enough. I usually bake at least 4 loaves to take to them and it disappears within a shift lol. I do add a little vanilla and cinninmon to it just kinda eyeball it. It this the ulitimate bnb
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mattie Zieniewicz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
Awesome! I had some over ripe bananas that I didn't want to throw away, so I went looking for a recipe and found this little gem. After reading the reviews, I cut the butter to 3/4 cup, and added a tsp each of cinnamon, baking powder, and nutmeg, and about a tsp and a half of vanilla. I couldn't help but add a few shakes of pumpkin pie and apple pie spice. I also substituted pecans for walnuts (since I didn't have any walnuts), and added raisins. It made enough for 24 muffins. I used 1 cup of white sugar, a 1/2 cup light brown sugar, and a 1/2 cup of dark brown sugar. I baked at 325° for 30-35 minutes. Like many others, mine didn't rise much, but the texture and flavor was perfect. I may add more baking powder next for more rise, but they are super yummy. Will make again! Thanks, OP, for a great recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LMichelle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
Fabulously dense and rich recipe. I'm not one for sweets, but my husband raves about it. I've had a few bites and know enough to praise the taste and texture. I always use pecans instead of walnuts. I add dry to wet ingredients and mix on medium low speed. The fourth time making it, due to what was on hand, I used 1.5 cups white sugar/.5 cup brown sugar, 1.5 cup bananas/.5 cup plain Greek yogurt. Came out wonderful. Good to know the recipe is top drawer even with minor modifications if you run short of ingredients. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
No changes at all! At first I thought I'd done something wrong. It was very dark and dense. I thought I'd burned them. However, this recipe is amazing! Best banana bread ever! I'm waiting for my bananas to ripen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
I added a tablespoon of cinnamon. So good! Best Banana Bread I ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,512) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States