Extreme Banana Nut Bread 'EBNB' Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
I have been making this recipe for years now and it's my favorite! It's gone in no time when I make it for company or even just my husband and sons. Yum. My kids don't love nuts so I don't always add them but either way, recipe is a winner in my books.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
Love this recipe!! This is the first recipe I tried the first time I made banana bread and it's the only one I'll ever use! I followed the advice of others and use vanilla and cinnamon every time. Today, however, I realized that I did not have enough butter!! As luck would have it, I had plenty of extra virgin coconut oil to spare ^_^ So! I put the coconut oil in the oven so that it would soften (ended up leaving it in there until is was completely melted). DO NOT use the microwave to warm up your oil, defeats the purpose of all those nutrients! I tasted the batter and OMG! It was delicious! It's still cooking and so far it smells delicious!! I love this recipe and (hopefully) this alternative to butter. Next goal is to sub a good sweet source so that I don't have to use sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
Ok, so I couldn't find my "Nanny's recipe for banana nut bread so I went looking for a temporary replacement, hoping to find hers someother time. WOW... I've made it 3 times I believe and its a huge hit! I've made it with butter and oil both delicious! Made it with white and Brown sugar still delicious! Accidentally added 2 cups of nuts the first time I made it and it became my twist because my family went "nuts" for the nuts! Added an extra 1/4 cup of bananas cause that's what I had when I was done mashing most certainly still delicious! One time I was 1/2 cup short of ripe banana so added 1/2 apple sauce and you couldn't even tell, gotta love a recipe that's this flexible. Bread looked pretty dark when it was done but it was not burnt. The top was a little crispy but again was not burnt, I even enjoyed the texture change... However If u don't care for the crisp top, wrap it in plastic for a few hours if u can manage to wait that long. I still hope to find "Nanny's" recipe in her writing for heirloom reasons but this is the only banana nut bread recipe I need!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
After searching the internet for a new banana nut bread recipe,and after eagerly reading most of the reviews, I decided try this one. I added a tsp of baking powder and a tsp of vanilla as others had suggested and used 1/2 white and 1/2 brown sugar. I also decreased the oven temp to 325 instead of 350. I cooked it for exactly 50 minutes and it was done. The taste is very good. It is moist and not dry at all. I am a little disappointed as I was looking for a more dense version and this is not as dense as I was led to believe. I would consider the texture and sweetness of this bread to be more like that of a "cake" than a bread. Over all, it is good, and was easy to make. It just wasn't exactly what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
I personally have not tried this (too many WW points for me) But have made it twice for my husband in two weeks. He has taken it into work and everyone who tries it says it is the best Banana Nut Bread they have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
This is the best banana bread I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
This was a wonderful easy recipe that the family loved. I added cinnamon and currants because they are staples in our banana bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Tyler, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
I love this recipie! I had been looking for the perfect banana bread for awhile. I found this one and love it!. I did use a 1/2 cup dark brown sugar and 1 and a 1/2 cups white sugar instead. I also tried a teaspoon of vanilla extract and a 1/2 teaspoon of almond extract. It adds a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
I made this two days ago and used one cup white sugar and one cup brown sugar and also added vanilla and cinnamon. I also mixed my ingredients differently from the directions -- used a mixer to cream the butter and sugars; then added eggs, dry ingredients, and mashed bananas; lastly stirred in chopped nuts. I think this works better than mixing by hand or stirring. My whole house smelled wonderful the day I baked them and the next. Very moist and flavorful and will definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
This is the best recipe for banana nut bread that I have ever found. My husband told me to throw away all the other recipes I have for this bread, this is definitely a keeper. It is WONDERFUL! Thank you for sharing.- Susan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 1,413) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States