Extreme Banana Nut Bread 'EBNB' Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
I always make a recipe as written. I only tweak it to my taste if it was good enough to make a second time and needs more or less spices. No tweaking here. Excellent! Just the two of us, therefore I simply cut the recipe in half and made one loaf. Should have made the two. Very moist, flavorful and probably the best banana nut bread I have ever made. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eve2278

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Living In: Herndon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
I've never had a bad banana bread and this was okay. Definitely not the best I've ever had. I am a bit confused at most of the low ratings. I am not a baker but I never encountered the issues many were having. The bread wasn't flat. It was a bit greasier than I was used to but nothing off-putting. I used half white, half brown sugar and the bread did turn out really dark, but I don't see how that is a problem. It's not like it was burned. I like the sweetness. The edges were even good, almost caramelized. I did think it lacked some flavor. Some of this would have been better if I had had the whole 1 cup of walnuts (the best part of any banana bread), but I was surprised that there weren't any spices in this recipe. I have never made a banana bread so I wasn't sure. One thing for sure, this bread requires no butter on it. So, it's a good eat but I think I will try and get my stepmother's recipe if I make banana bread in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
I'm a man and not considered a master in the kitchen. This recipe has heralded me as an elite baker. it is trul a part in your mouth. easy to make and never any left over. I go heavy on the nuts myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
A keeper, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
I have made this recipe more times than I can count over the last 4 or 5 years. In fact, I just converted it to metric and copied for our Australian visitors who raved about it. They informed me that my stepson confessed that when he lived with us, he would hide bananas until they browned just so I would make a batch. I add 1 tsp of vanilla, but do not like the cinnamon added. I have tried it with Splenda, but it just isn't the same in my opinion. Another tip- if my bananas are brown and I don't have time to make bread, I put them in the freezer, peel and all. When I'm ready to make bread, I take them out to defrost for about an hour or so. They come out of the peel already mushy and make delicious bread. This recipe is definitely worth a try if you are considering it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
Gluten-Free works! I used Bob's Red Mill All Purpose G-F Flour in the same quantity as called for here, and it worked well. I am always working to reduce sugar; used Agave Nectar and 1/2 the quantity -- 1 cup. Loved it. Am going to incorporate 1 tsp. baking powder next time as my loaves do not rise very much. The ebnb i have made wiyhout the baking powder fits nicely into one loaf pan. This recipe is excellent! And because it works well with G-F flour, i, too, can enjoy it with my family. Oh, and I use Earth Balance dairy-free, soy-free "butter" as i have dairy allergies as well. It works! Thank You for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
This is a big hit with my family. I love it with the nuts, but my kids don't, so sometimes I use them, and sometimes I don't. The last time I made this bread, I only used 1/2 the sugar that the recipe called for (I only used 1 cup) and I sprinkled a little sugar on the top before I baked. It turned out great! I think I will keep that modification for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
Hands down....THE BEST I'VE EVER HAD!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
I've made it so many times so many ways! I have followed the recipe exactly, and there are times when I followed the reviews. The thing is brown sugar, or white, vanilla extract or none, cinnamon, or nutmeg, or nothing... it tastes terrific. In my house it is gone in no time. Thank you for sharing the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
OMG my family loved it!!! Making it for the second time in a week
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 1,425) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States