Extra Gingery Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
I feel like I wasted my time grinding spices for this recipe, because all I can taste is molasses and sugar. Ten minutes out of the oven (still warm), this unfortunately tastes and smells too strongly of molasses - and the apple juice adds an extra, fruity undertone that pushes the sweetness of this recipe over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
The flavor of the finished product is excellent if you are looking for a strong and dark ginger flavor. I followed the recipe with 2 exceptions - replacing 1/2 cup of the oil with applesauce (which I always do when baking breads like this) and using pear cider instead of apple juice. The three sources of ginger plus the molasses produces an intense flavor that cannot be ignored and smells amazing during the baking process. That said, I had the same problem some others did though not to the same extent. Because I was using this to form the base of another recipe (The British Baker's Ginger Pear Trifle which you should make!!)aesthetics weren't really an issue. So, I went with a loaf pan and a round stoneware baking pan in an attempt to avoid the overdone/underdone issue. It worked part way. In the round pan, by the time the center was done the edges were definitely overdone. I ended up cutting about one to 1 1/2 inches off the outside and just using the middle section. In the loaf pan it was a half inch edging that needed to come off and the center also fell when I first tested it so I ended up with a bit of a sunken middle. If you can find the correct pan size to avoid that issue, the taste of this bread is worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dutchgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I had some candied ginger in the fridge that I wanted to use up, and thought this would be a good way to use some of what I had. The recipe was pretty simple to follow, and I even used my springform pan too cook it. HOWEVER, it turned out horrible (and I am not a novice baker)!! Once my cake reached the higher end of the time range for baking, the center of my cake was still not cooked. I left it in for another 10 minutes. The center still didn't seem set, but I took it out anyway to prevent the outside from burning. While cooling, the entire cake sank in the middle. I still cut into it to see if I would be able to salvage it. The outer edge of it was hard, the middle of it was completely sunk in, and it wasn't even completely cooked. I will never make this recipe again. Such a waste of great ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
I took this to my office and it was gone by lunch, with a lot of people asking for the recipe. It's really wonderful and very gingery, which I like, especially the candied ginger. It's fantastic with black coffee. I baked it in two loaf pans for about 45 minutes, and served it over the next two days with butter. I didn't have apple juice so I used white grape juice, and I ran out of molasses at about 3/4 cup so I topped it off with maple syrup. Otherwise the recipe stayed the same. I'll try this again, and I'd like to see how it turns out if I replace some of the oil with applesauce. Thanks very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alaskabaker
Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
I love this recipe! I followed it precisely except for the apple juice part. I forgot to grab some at the store so ended up using a 1/2 cup of water instead and it turned out just fine. The crystallized ginger is superb and I used a standard loaf pan. I had to bake it for over an hour, but the end result was a rich and delightful treat! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amesbury, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
From all the absolutely glowing reviews I expected to like this cake more than I did. I'm an absolute ginger NUT so the prospect of three sources of that spicy delight was tantelizing. The thought that people decreased the oil and still found it to be moist was promising. I followed the recipe as written and it *was* good, but not the WOW experience I had hoped for. I glazed it (as suggested) with powdered sugar and juice (orange rather than lemon because I had just squeezed some oranges). Don't know what to do differently next time (yes, there *will* be a next time) but I'll fiddle around with it. THANK YOU for sharing the recipe and for all the reviewers comments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
Loved this recipe. I made cupcakes to take into work and everyone else quite enjoyed them as well. Reduced cooking time to 18-20 minutes for cupcakes. I didn’t use the oil at all, substituted ¼ cup butter and a splash more apple juice. I thought the cupcakes turned out well and moist enough for everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
I just love this recipe. It tastes like a luxury version of the Mcvities Jamaica Ginger cake that I remember from home!!! I Used the recipe to make 2 x 1 lb loaves, which I baked for 45 minutes. I used Sorghum Mill, muddy pond Molasses from Tennessee (given to me by a friend on a visit there earlier in the year). I just love the strong ginger taste to this bread, the slightly crunchy crust and the aroma while cooking was just heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
Wonderful recipe. Many reviewer have left out the crystallized ginger because they can't find it. In my opinion the crystallized ginger makes this recipe extra special, so don't leave it out. It is also called candied ginger and can be found in the bulk section of many supermarkets. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
Thank you for a great recipe! I made mine into muffins, with half wholemeal and half white flour, half a cup of white sugar and half a cup of brown sugar and only half a cup of molasses and they turned out great. I got 12 large muffins... they rose beautifully and gave crunchy muffin tops straight from the oven. I cut back on the spices as these were for my 3 year old... I only used 1 tspn cinnamon and 1 tspn cloves and I didn't have any crystallised ginger, but they still tasted fantastic. After a night in the fridge they tasted even better as the flavours really blended in. I never found out whether they tasted even better after 2 days cos they were all gone by then!! I'll definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States