Extra Gingery Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
So so so good! The candied ginger is what did it for me. If you can't find it, don't worry! It's very easy (and cheap) to make. Here's what I did: bring 1 1/3C sugar and 1C water to a boil. Add 1C chopped, peeled ginger and simmer for 20 minutes. Drain, dry and sprinkle with sugar. It's quite strong when eated alone but when baked into this bread, it just adds a super rich flavor and a fun chewy texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meg Natural

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marquette, Michigan, USA
Living In: Rockton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2006
WATCH OUT!! This is Addictive!!! I baked it as muffins for the band members and they all LOVED it! I also did not include the crystalized ginger. I used 1 1/2 cup flour & 1 1/2 cup whole wheat flour and added 5 Tbsp. melted butter for more moisture. I am making more tomorrow because its all gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2003
This is a delicious, moist, dark, rich molasses- flavorful gingerbread cake that is not too sweet. I use butter instead of oil. On occasion applesauce is added instead of the juice due to what I have on hand. My family and friends have enjoyed this cake many times. My family doesn't care for crystallized ginger so don't use it. Great with Cool Whip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2003
This has got to be the absolute BEST recipe for gingerbread I have ever tasted. I can't stop making it...it's addicting! I don't use the crystallized ginger because I cannot seem to find it, however it is great with homemade cream cheese frosting on top and fridgerated. This beats STARBUCKS' a million to one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Koko
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
Yummmmm! This ginger bread is exactly what I was looking for.. I used half WW half AP flour, half brown half white sugar, applesause instead of juice, and reduced the molasses by about 1/3. I also didn't have fresh ginger so I doubled the ground ginger, and I had to sub nutmeg for the cloves and it was fine. I only baked it for 30 mins, then I turned the oven off and left it to cool inside. Served it warm with vanilla ice cream and it was to die for! Love it, thank you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Koko

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
This is an excellent recipe, reminiscent of the one I used to make in a wholesale bakery. I couldn't find crystallized ginger, so I had to omit it. And I only used 1/2 cup molasses instead of the full cup. It was perfect! The only thing I'd change next time is baking it for 45-50 minutes, as mine is slightly overbaked. It's still a keeper though -- thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
My husband is a very picky eater and he loved it! I baked it in small loaves for him to take to work, the cook time was reduced this way to about 35 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
Oh, yes, this is a keeper. I made two different gingerbreads yesterday to let the family decide on the best, and this was it. Dark and spicy and yummmm. I messed up on the recipe and accidently put the fresh ginger in the other bread (whoops) and I didn't put in the candied ginger either, but the flavor in this cake was still exceptional. The only thing my kids requested for next time was to add chocolate chips :) Just one note (a year later). I have brought this to a few gatherings and the adults love it, but I think it is a bit too spicy for most kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela Araki
Home Town: Saratoga, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
I just love this recipe. It tastes like a luxury version of the Mcvities Jamaica Ginger cake that I remember from home!!! I Used the recipe to make 2 x 1 lb loaves, which I baked for 45 minutes. I used Sorghum Mill, muddy pond Molasses from Tennessee (given to me by a friend on a visit there earlier in the year). I just love the strong ginger taste to this bread, the slightly crunchy crust and the aroma while cooking was just heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
UCK - don't know what went wrong - great creative ingredients, after 90 minute of baking in the 10"springform (didn't say 10: springform TUBE pan) the thing was still an uncooked glob except for the burnt edges. Spooned some of the goo out into a pie pan hoping that at least both pans full of goo would bake and be tasty - turned into TWO pans of greasy mess. Threw it away. Will add the grated fresh ginger and crystalized ginger to one of my tried and true gingerbread recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States