Extra Gingery Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2003
This is a delicious, moist, dark, rich molasses- flavorful gingerbread cake that is not too sweet. I use butter instead of oil. On occasion applesauce is added instead of the juice due to what I have on hand. My family and friends have enjoyed this cake many times. My family doesn't care for crystallized ginger so don't use it. Great with Cool Whip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2003
This has got to be the absolute BEST recipe for gingerbread I have ever tasted. I can't stop making it...it's addicting! I don't use the crystallized ginger because I cannot seem to find it, however it is great with homemade cream cheese frosting on top and fridgerated. This beats STARBUCKS' a million to one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2006
WATCH OUT!! This is Addictive!!! I baked it as muffins for the band members and they all LOVED it! I also did not include the crystalized ginger. I used 1 1/2 cup flour & 1 1/2 cup whole wheat flour and added 5 Tbsp. melted butter for more moisture. I am making more tomorrow because its all gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
Dark, rich and fabulous! The bits of candied ginger are wonderful flavor bursts. I might use even more next time. The only change I made, by necessity, was to use orange juice instead of apple. Served with a cream cheese frosting dotted with more candied ginger. I'll be making this again frequently, especially as holidays approach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
Oh, yes, this is a keeper. I made two different gingerbreads yesterday to let the family decide on the best, and this was it. Dark and spicy and yummmm. I messed up on the recipe and accidently put the fresh ginger in the other bread (whoops) and I didn't put in the candied ginger either, but the flavor in this cake was still exceptional. The only thing my kids requested for next time was to add chocolate chips :) Just one note (a year later). I have brought this to a few gatherings and the adults love it, but I think it is a bit too spicy for most kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela Araki
Home Town: Saratoga, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
I make this every year at Christmas to hand out to co-workers as gifts. They love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
You have to make this gingerbread! I made it last week, into cupcakes, and it is fantastic. I adore the gingerbread at Starbucks and this really is better. I'm back to the site because I'm making this again for Christmas Eve. I'm going to use the round springform pan as suggested. Like another reviewer, I used OJ instead of apple & it came out just fine. Candied/Crystalized ginger was a challenge to find, so I may leave it out this time if I can't find it. I made a cinnamon cream cheese frosting to go with this... (2 blocks of cream cheese, tsp cinnamon & cup of powered sugar, tsp of vanilla) although a nice big scoop of whipped cream would do the trick, too. Anyway! Great recipe! Just Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
This recipe makes the very best gingerbread ever! I made it a bit better, nutrition-wise, by substituting applesauce for the oil, splenda for sugar, and using one-half whole wheat flour. I also put a lemon glaze (1 3/4 cups powdered sugar mixed w/ 5 tbs lemon juice) on top as soon as it came out of the over. Mmmmmm! To me and my mom, this gingerbread is Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
This turned out ok. I cooked it for only 50 minutes and at a lower temp and the edges turned out too hard. The inside cake was soft and moist. Not too sweet, which balances nicely with cinnamon icing mentioned below (loved it BTW). I'll still make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BZMUM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
Perfect as is! I frosted the top with a Grand Marnier buttercream. Next time I do that I will cut the sugar in the bread. Frosted or plain, it's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States