Extra Gingery Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
UCK - don't know what went wrong - great creative ingredients, after 90 minute of baking in the 10"springform (didn't say 10: springform TUBE pan) the thing was still an uncooked glob except for the burnt edges. Spooned some of the goo out into a pie pan hoping that at least both pans full of goo would bake and be tasty - turned into TWO pans of greasy mess. Threw it away. Will add the grated fresh ginger and crystalized ginger to one of my tried and true gingerbread recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
So so so good! The candied ginger is what did it for me. If you can't find it, don't worry! It's very easy (and cheap) to make. Here's what I did: bring 1 1/3C sugar and 1C water to a boil. Add 1C chopped, peeled ginger and simmer for 20 minutes. Drain, dry and sprinkle with sugar. It's quite strong when eated alone but when baked into this bread, it just adds a super rich flavor and a fun chewy texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meg Natural

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marquette, Michigan, USA
Living In: Rockton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Koko
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
Yummmmm! This ginger bread is exactly what I was looking for.. I used half WW half AP flour, half brown half white sugar, applesause instead of juice, and reduced the molasses by about 1/3. I also didn't have fresh ginger so I doubled the ground ginger, and I had to sub nutmeg for the cloves and it was fine. I only baked it for 30 mins, then I turned the oven off and left it to cool inside. Served it warm with vanilla ice cream and it was to die for! Love it, thank you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Koko

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
This is an excellent recipe, reminiscent of the one I used to make in a wholesale bakery. I couldn't find crystallized ginger, so I had to omit it. And I only used 1/2 cup molasses instead of the full cup. It was perfect! The only thing I'd change next time is baking it for 45-50 minutes, as mine is slightly overbaked. It's still a keeper though -- thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
My husband is a very picky eater and he loved it! I baked it in small loaves for him to take to work, the cook time was reduced this way to about 35 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2007
This is a superb, easy recipe that goes great with a cuppa joe. I've added this to my recipe box, because I'll be making this again. The fresh ginger adds extra zing and just a bit of bite. I made this in a 9x13 pan, because I like to cut my gingerbread in squares. I used one cup of white sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar, added an extra teaspoon of ground ginger, and used two cups of white flour and one cup whole wheat. I couldn't find candied ginger, but I'll bet that would add a nice flavor note. Next time I'll try adding a half stick of butter to see what happens. Thanks for the excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
amazing! I substitued orange juice since that's what I had on hand and it was incredibly good. A great mix and better than the gingerbread I regularly buy at Whole Foods Market (but to be fair, that is really good stuff!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlingame, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
Perfect as is! I frosted the top with a Grand Marnier buttercream. Next time I do that I will cut the sugar in the bread. Frosted or plain, it's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
This turned out ok. I cooked it for only 50 minutes and at a lower temp and the edges turned out too hard. The inside cake was soft and moist. Not too sweet, which balances nicely with cinnamon icing mentioned below (loved it BTW). I'll still make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BZMUM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
This recipe makes the very best gingerbread ever! I made it a bit better, nutrition-wise, by substituting applesauce for the oil, splenda for sugar, and using one-half whole wheat flour. I also put a lemon glaze (1 3/4 cups powdered sugar mixed w/ 5 tbs lemon juice) on top as soon as it came out of the over. Mmmmmm! To me and my mom, this gingerbread is Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States