Extra Extra Rich Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2004
WOW! If you like rich, chocolately brownies, these are for you! I switched the measurements for the sugar and cocoa as someone previously suggested. I used 1 1/2 C. sugar and 1 rounded Cup of unsweetened cocoa. Be careful to NOT overbake. I took mine out at 21 minutes when just a little batter was on the tip of a toothpick and they were perfect; very heavy and moist inside the way I like. If you do accidentally overbake them, dip them like biscotti in your coffee or cocoa. I didn't make the frosting recipe as I like brownies unfrosted to nibble on or enjoy with vanilla ice cream. This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2001
Perhaps the measurements are wrong on this recipe? The brownies turned out like little chocolate bricks... they are unbelivably dry and hard. Everything I usually bake turns out great. I was too embarrased to bring them to the BBQ that I was making them for. Please re-evaluate this recipe before anyone else uses it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2001
These brownies had a wonderful texture but I think the amount of cocoa and sugar should be switched (I did that the second time and they were much better). I also think they should be made in a 9x9 pan. Overall they were decilcious and disappeared the same day I made them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
this was not to my liking. i switched the sugar and cocoa like previous users have recommended and watched it closely so it didn't overbake. well the center was a goopy mess that wouldn't come out of the pan, and the edges were perfect. it tasted awful though. i couldn't rate it less than one star even though i would have. i will not use this again and will remove it from my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sylvie TorokNagy Murray

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2003
These are the richest, fudgiest brownies ever! I know why other people haven't rated them highly in the past. Truth is, this type of recipe is easy to overcook. Even a few minutes can make a huge difference! As for my batch, it passed the knife test after only 15 minutes. This unique recipe really stands out since it uses so much cocoa and no eggs. If "See's" made brownies, this is what they'd taste like! I don't usually prefer dark chocolate, but these send me to heaven!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
I loved them! I reduced the amount of cocoa to 1 cup and added 1/2 cup of chocolate chips because...why not? YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
very cocoa-y and crumbly. I made sure not to over-cook them, but they are so soft they fall apart. If you like a lot of cocoa taste, you'll like them. I didn't use the icing because I felt that would be way too much cocoa flavor. I really only tried this recipe because I wanted brownies and I had a can of evaporated milk to use up. I think I'll stick to my nestle brownie recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abbey_Road
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
Very very intense. I thought the "18 servings" was a typo, but you can really only eat a very small piece. We switched cocoa and sugar amounts as properly recommended, but it was still too much. It was useful to see a recipe that didn't require eggs, so I might try it again with 3/4 or 2/3 cups cocoa, instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
I made these tonight and didn't like at all. I tried to make them without the frosting, they were just bad. We had to throw away the whole batch. I was trying to use up ingredients I had already in my pantry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
I think maybe leaving the eggs out is a bad idea. These turned out very dry. The icing helps but you will need a gallon of milk to get one of the little guys down!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States