Extra Extra Rich Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2001
These brownies had a wonderful texture but I think the amount of cocoa and sugar should be switched (I did that the second time and they were much better). I also think they should be made in a 9x9 pan. Overall they were decilcious and disappeared the same day I made them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
This recipe was amazing! I adjusted the sugar and cocoa (switched amounts) and baked for 15-20 minutes. Don't overbake!! Added sugar to the frosting and a little vanilla for flavour. An absolute fave and will do it again - only problem was the lack of binding so might use an egg next time and definitely will cut back on the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2003
These are the richest, fudgiest brownies ever! I know why other people haven't rated them highly in the past. Truth is, this type of recipe is easy to overcook. Even a few minutes can make a huge difference! As for my batch, it passed the knife test after only 15 minutes. This unique recipe really stands out since it uses so much cocoa and no eggs. If "See's" made brownies, this is what they'd taste like! I don't usually prefer dark chocolate, but these send me to heaven!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2004
WOW! If you like rich, chocolately brownies, these are for you! I switched the measurements for the sugar and cocoa as someone previously suggested. I used 1 1/2 C. sugar and 1 rounded Cup of unsweetened cocoa. Be careful to NOT overbake. I took mine out at 21 minutes when just a little batter was on the tip of a toothpick and they were perfect; very heavy and moist inside the way I like. If you do accidentally overbake them, dip them like biscotti in your coffee or cocoa. I didn't make the frosting recipe as I like brownies unfrosted to nibble on or enjoy with vanilla ice cream. This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
There is something otherwordly about this recipe...I'm not sure if this is a divine recipe, or hellspawn, there is one thing I'm sure of, though...these brownies are the way to nirvana. Made them twice, first time took them out a bit early and they ended up being "spoonies", only edible from the pan using a spoon, no problem with that. Second time, I made them perfect and shared some pieces with some friends. We all ended up licking our spoons moaning in pleasure, but also grunting in disgust...I do not know. I think this might just be the beginning of a new religion. Something more technical in nature: I never use sweetened cocoa, so I substituted the same quantity with 1 part sugar/2 parts cocoa instead...also added some cinnamon, vanilla and bourbon, and I can assure you, this is the way to go if you're ok with alcohol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
Fantastic! These were so fudgy and rich. My husband is a chocoholic and he raved about them. I also switched the sugar and cocoa measurements. I will definitely make these again and will pass the recipe on to others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
I had so much fun making these brownies. They are fast, fun, and delious. I only put two cups of cocoa for two times the recipe, but they were still rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
I baked these last night and they tasted delicious. The texture was not that awesome. I did switch the cocoa and sugar measurements like someone suggested. I think next time im going to add a few eggs because they were just too gooey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
I loved them! I reduced the amount of cocoa to 1 cup and added 1/2 cup of chocolate chips because...why not? YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
I was in a baking mood but realized we had no eggs in the house! So I looked up and found this recipe and went by what other reviewers said and switched the amounts of cocoa and sugar. I also used 1 cup of milk because we had no evaporated milk. We also had very little vanilla extract left. However, in the end, I added about 1/4 cup more of flour and about 1/8 cup more of sugar until the consistency and texture was just right. Then I poured into a cupcake tray (because the volume in our square tray wasn't enough) and put it in. Took them about 25 minutes later and they were perfect! :) Also used my own custom frosting/icing recipe, but everything worked out and it was delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States