Extra Extra Rich Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2001
These brownies had a wonderful texture but I think the amount of cocoa and sugar should be switched (I did that the second time and they were much better). I also think they should be made in a 9x9 pan. Overall they were decilcious and disappeared the same day I made them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2001
Perhaps the measurements are wrong on this recipe? The brownies turned out like little chocolate bricks... they are unbelivably dry and hard. Everything I usually bake turns out great. I was too embarrased to bring them to the BBQ that I was making them for. Please re-evaluate this recipe before anyone else uses it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2003
These are the richest, fudgiest brownies ever! I know why other people haven't rated them highly in the past. Truth is, this type of recipe is easy to overcook. Even a few minutes can make a huge difference! As for my batch, it passed the knife test after only 15 minutes. This unique recipe really stands out since it uses so much cocoa and no eggs. If "See's" made brownies, this is what they'd taste like! I don't usually prefer dark chocolate, but these send me to heaven!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2004
WOW! If you like rich, chocolately brownies, these are for you! I switched the measurements for the sugar and cocoa as someone previously suggested. I used 1 1/2 C. sugar and 1 rounded Cup of unsweetened cocoa. Be careful to NOT overbake. I took mine out at 21 minutes when just a little batter was on the tip of a toothpick and they were perfect; very heavy and moist inside the way I like. If you do accidentally overbake them, dip them like biscotti in your coffee or cocoa. I didn't make the frosting recipe as I like brownies unfrosted to nibble on or enjoy with vanilla ice cream. This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2004
Very good. I skipped the frosting, swapped the cocoa and sugar measurements, and used apple sauce in lieu of vegetable oil. Still very tasty, and very rich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2004
I followed the previous reviews and swapped the measurements for the cocoa powder and sugar. But this result in the batter being too dry, thus I added more evaporated milk than called for. However, the end result is still disappointing. It was dry, crumbly and bitter. Think I will try this again without swapping the measurements..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2005
I followed the advice of others, including using a 9X9 pan. I ended up with a custard in the middle. The outer edges were done, but were crumbly and bitter. It ended up in the trash. This has taught me to make sure I always have eggs on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
They turned out cooked just right, but they were too dry and tasted too flour-y. My 3 year olds loved it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2006
I should have checked the reviews prior to making this recipe. Changing the measurments for the Cocoa and Sugar would have helped. The frosting never did thicken up and was more like a sauce. Overall, not the best brownie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
This recipe was amazing! I adjusted the sugar and cocoa (switched amounts) and baked for 15-20 minutes. Don't overbake!! Added sugar to the frosting and a little vanilla for flavour. An absolute fave and will do it again - only problem was the lack of binding so might use an egg next time and definitely will cut back on the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States