Extra Extra Rich Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
I was not happy with how this turned out. I MIGHT be able to use this for something like a pie crust. With so little to be cooked while baking there is NO change in texture before and after cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
These brownies were a disappointment. My son has an egg allergy so I was excited to have found an egg free brownie recipe. Like someone else suggested I used ½ cup sugar and 1 cup cocoa, but it was a bad idea to decrease the amount of sugar. The brownies didn’t even taste sweet to me, but more like burnt chocolate. However the brownies weren’t burnt because I only baked them for 21 minutes. I probably could have even baked them for a shorter period of time because they were dry and crumbly. The icing recipe is also very bitter. I will probably try to play around with this recipe since it is egg free. Next I will decrease the cocoa, increase the sugar and perhaps use applesauce like some people suggested. I may even add little Ener-g Egg Replacer to help bind the brownies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
Very very intense. I thought the "18 servings" was a typo, but you can really only eat a very small piece. We switched cocoa and sugar amounts as properly recommended, but it was still too much. It was useful to see a recipe that didn't require eggs, so I might try it again with 3/4 or 2/3 cups cocoa, instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
Didn't care for the recipe. It was dry and I only baked it for 25 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
I had so much fun making these brownies. They are fast, fun, and delious. I only put two cups of cocoa for two times the recipe, but they were still rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
I tried both the suggestions of the reviewers and the recipe as stated, and I liked the recipe as stated better. I much prefer milk chocolate to dark though. Also, instead of frosting, I put 3/4 cup of semisweet chocolate chips in the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
Fantastic! These were so fudgy and rich. My husband is a chocoholic and he raved about them. I also switched the sugar and cocoa measurements. I will definitely make these again and will pass the recipe on to others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2007
I think that switching the cocoa and sugar would help - I cooked this following the recipe. My batch was done in 18 minutes. The flavor will only appeal to people who love their chocolate dark and bitter - 70% or so. If you are a fan of milk chocolate or regular Betty Crocker brownies, you will not like this. I hope to salvage mine by making a sweet frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
I did the measurement switch for sugar and cocoa as suggested, subbed 1/2 the oil with applesauce and added chocolate chips instead of frosting... they were the best dark chocolate brownies I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
This recipe was amazing! I adjusted the sugar and cocoa (switched amounts) and baked for 15-20 minutes. Don't overbake!! Added sugar to the frosting and a little vanilla for flavour. An absolute fave and will do it again - only problem was the lack of binding so might use an egg next time and definitely will cut back on the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States