Extra Extra Rich Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
I think maybe leaving the eggs out is a bad idea. These turned out very dry. The icing helps but you will need a gallon of milk to get one of the little guys down!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
The taste cocoa over powers everything else. and the frosting is just as bad. i don't recommend this recipe at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
I was not happy with how this turned out. I MIGHT be able to use this for something like a pie crust. With so little to be cooked while baking there is NO change in texture before and after cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
These brownies were a disappointment. My son has an egg allergy so I was excited to have found an egg free brownie recipe. Like someone else suggested I used ½ cup sugar and 1 cup cocoa, but it was a bad idea to decrease the amount of sugar. The brownies didn’t even taste sweet to me, but more like burnt chocolate. However the brownies weren’t burnt because I only baked them for 21 minutes. I probably could have even baked them for a shorter period of time because they were dry and crumbly. The icing recipe is also very bitter. I will probably try to play around with this recipe since it is egg free. Next I will decrease the cocoa, increase the sugar and perhaps use applesauce like some people suggested. I may even add little Ener-g Egg Replacer to help bind the brownies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
Very very intense. I thought the "18 servings" was a typo, but you can really only eat a very small piece. We switched cocoa and sugar amounts as properly recommended, but it was still too much. It was useful to see a recipe that didn't require eggs, so I might try it again with 3/4 or 2/3 cups cocoa, instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
Didn't care for the recipe. It was dry and I only baked it for 25 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
I had so much fun making these brownies. They are fast, fun, and delious. I only put two cups of cocoa for two times the recipe, but they were still rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
I tried both the suggestions of the reviewers and the recipe as stated, and I liked the recipe as stated better. I much prefer milk chocolate to dark though. Also, instead of frosting, I put 3/4 cup of semisweet chocolate chips in the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
Fantastic! These were so fudgy and rich. My husband is a chocoholic and he raved about them. I also switched the sugar and cocoa measurements. I will definitely make these again and will pass the recipe on to others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2007
I think that switching the cocoa and sugar would help - I cooked this following the recipe. My batch was done in 18 minutes. The flavor will only appeal to people who love their chocolate dark and bitter - 70% or so. If you are a fan of milk chocolate or regular Betty Crocker brownies, you will not like this. I hope to salvage mine by making a sweet frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Chunky Cheesecake Brownies

Decadent, rich, chocolaty dessert that's a combination of brownies and cheesecake

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States