Extra Easy Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
AWESOME recipe! I LOVE hummus but I almost never have tahini on hand to make it with so I end up having to buy premade stuff at the store. This recipe TOTALLY eliminates that! Two things I did differently. I added 1 TBSP of lemon juice (just the concentrated stuff I had in the fridge) and I used sesame oil instead of olive oil. It gave the finished hummus that sesame taste that is in traditional hummus without having to buy an expensive bottle of tahini. I've also double the recipe and used 1 TBSP of sesame oil and 1 TBSP of olive oil and saw no difference in the taste. Everyone I've served this too is totally wowed by it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
Absolutely delicious!!! Much better than store-bought hummus. Like other users, I added 1T fresh squeezed lemon, an extra clove of garlic, and only 1t of cumin. I used 1.5C of frozen chickpeas that I had previously cooked and just added a bit of water. I used my blendtec twister jar to blend it and it turned out beautifully! Smooth and creamy. Next time I may try adding a little fresh jalapeno.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
Why change a recipe that is hundreds of years old.I much prefure the original.This is just wizzed up chickpeas and tastes like it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
The only changes I made to this recipe was to add a little oregano and cayenne pepper. Didn't really use much of the bean liquid to avoid the preservative and reduce the sodium. Who needs store bought hummus when you can make your own. The only way thing better than canned beans is fresh ones, if you can get it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Discovery Bay, Saint Ann, Jamaica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
If you want to make it less fattening, add a teaspoon or so of water while blending it. It will come out just as creamy, but without all the extra oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
This is definitely extra easy! I had to add more of the spices and I added a little lemon juice. Was not disappointed. I would make this anytime I wanted hummus and didn't have tahini for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: New Park, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I did like a few comments said and added a little bit of lemon juice and some water (didn't think and drained my beans before so couldn't use that). It was delicious though and my new favorite hummus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
I've made a recipe similar to this for years because I absolutely hate store-bought hummus...because of the overwhelming taste of tahini. I add a bit more garlic and olive oil to help with the consistency. I also add a splash of lemon juice and chopped sun-dried tomatoes. It's always a hit with family and friends. Thank you for this tahini-free recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
My almost 2 year old daughter can't have sesame but has always loved hummus. This was a terrific, easy recipe that she was eating with both hands and had all over her face - she was so pleased. I will probably reduce the salt a bit but that's just personal preference. Thanks so much for the easy delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
I omitted the olive oil. It's not necessary. I halfed the cumin because 2 teaspoons seemed a bit much. 1 good sized clove of garlic is fine. I would only use 2 if they were small cloves. I used 3 tablespoons of the bean juice and added juice from half of a small lemon which was 1 tablespoon. Be careful with salting this as it is plenty salty to begin with from the beans. I blended it up in the blender tried it out and it was wonderful except for the lack of tahini. I added 2 drops of smoked sesame oil and reblended it. My girlfriend said it was the best hummus she'd ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 450) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Extra Easy Hummus

Healthy dip made from garbanzo beans.

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States