Exquisite Yeastless Focaccia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by 2tee
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
This was a pretty good recipe overall. I did make a few changes to the dough. Instead of using all white flour i used half white and half whole wheat, it came out delicious. As for topping my focaccia i added fresh ground pepper, rosemary, and carmalized onions. As it started to bake i could smell the rosemary aroma wafting in the room. When i removed the bread from the oven i let it sit for about 5 minutes, then cut into it. The edges where crispy, not like the normal kind of edges you'd get if you make the yeast kind focaccia,i also think it's partly because when i tried to make the focaccia fit the pan the edges where the thinnest part. The middle of the pan is nice and soft. Overall it's a good recipes, but i'll probably try the yeast kind and compare it later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2tee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waipahu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2007
This recipe was pretty good, but there's one really important thing: a whole teaspoon of cayenne pepper is way too much. 1/4 tsp would have been much better. Also, it didn't rise as much as I thought it would, but that's probably just because it has no yeast. I will make this again, but I will have to experiment with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ithaca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
excelent base and sooo easy! top it any way you want, I used finely choped green onion,thym, sage, oregano, garlic powder, basil, cayene, grated marble cheese and lots of rosemary. It came out perfect! It also makes a good pizza crust if you stretch it out over a large round pan, then top it with sauce, cheese and whatever your heart desires! I have made it both ways many times, with many variations, always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toaster

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Avon- status quo PRO
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
What a pleasant surprise this bread turned out to be. Like some of the other reviewers before me, I had my doubts about a non-yeast focaccia and how tender it might be. I doubled the amount to make 2 loaves for a dinner event, (mixing in my KA w/ dough hook) and took the advice of one other poster to bake in my two round 9" cake pans. I did have to add a bit more flour (1/3 C or so)so that it would all come together nicely. It is a sticky dough but with well oiled hands, it settled into the pans nicely. I did let it rest in the pans for about an hour prior to baking. Don't know if this made a difference or not but it certainly didn't hurt it. It rose somewhat and was very soft and tender. I also topped with a parmesan, cheddar, mozzerella combo. Easy as could be, and great bread with on hand ingredients. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Avon- status quo PRO

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
It was 11 o'clock at night and I was in the mood to bake bread. Looking in my cupboard and fiding no yeast, I went googling for yeastless bread - this recipe came up. I had all the ingredients, so I thought I'd give it a shot. Incredibly easy! I had to add extra flour to get the dough to the right consistency, but it came out fluffy with a bard crust at the bottom. I baked it in a large frying pan, and it turned out beautifully. I HAD to add some rosemary to it. One of the easiest, most delicious bread recipies I've tried! Thanks a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
This was pretty good for a quick bread for a meal I made this with soup for dinner. Which was nice to be able to put out fresh bread in 30 minutes. I did have to add about an extra 1/2 cup of flour before it was able to be handled. And for the top I used Italian seasoning, garlic, cayenne and a little bit of salt. Oh and parm cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
This does NOT need any additional flour added to it. This is a batter dough, which is meant to be wet & sticky. I used a cookie sheet lined w/ parchment paper, and lightly sprayed w/ cooking spray. It's quick to make, and easy to adapt to personal tastes. I didn't use the cayenne pepper. I added 1/2 teaspoon italian seasoning & garlic powder into the dough. I used oregano as opposed to basil, and did a combo, of parmesan, mozzarella, and muenster cheese. I will add this to my recipe box, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
Great simple recipe that is quick and easy to make when I am out of bread (takes about the same amount of time to buy at the corner grocery/bakery as it does to make). Sometimes I vary it by adding other ingredients such as wheat bran or cornmeal and they all came out to be tasty,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
Very different from yeast-made focaccia, I'd hardly even call it that. But still really good! I made some changes to the spices because I read the reviews that there was too much pepper. I changed the measurement to 1/4 teaspoon and it was STILL too much. I'll add less next time. Instead of garlic salt, I used garlic powder and onion powder, actually a good teaspoon of both, and then I sprinkled the top with coarse sea salt. It was super. I wonder if it keeps, though?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
No one liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catglaw

Cooking Level: Beginning


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Focaccia di Recco (Italian Flatbread)

See how to make an amazing cheese-filled Italian flatbread.

Focaccia Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy flatbread flavored with garlic and herbs.

How to Make Focaccia

See how to make a light Italian yeast bread with delightful dimples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States