Exquisite Yeastless Focaccia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
Tried this tonight and paired it with a chicken stew I was struggling with. The bread was REALLY spicy. I think next time I'll either make it thicker or bake it for less time. Also, I added mozzarella cheese on top of the parm. Turned out okay. Will probably make again and play with it a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
If you're out of yeast you land here. My first batch was terrible, and heres why: While stirring the dry ingredients into the wet, I never got a dough that would pull away from the bowl, so I kept adding flour. Even while kneading it, I had to add flour. My dough got tough and the baking powder rise ended way too early. Dinner was a dry dog biscuit. On the next attempt,thanks to others comments esp. the daily gourmet, I got the dough into the oven right away without trying to make a dough ball or kneading. Just stir it, dump it, spread it, and bake it. It's very craggy but its great. Very crispy on the outside, very soft inside. I like basil dipping olive oil for the oil in the wet ingredients for flavor. There will be no slicing this bread, just break it off and eat it- in 1/2 hour. Dare me to stir in some crumbled sausage ? Thank you Julia, I've been wanting to make something good for years. In the end, we experimented, then we ate it, and now we'll release our dangerous selves on the world. (I wonder if my hard well water was the problem with the first batch ?)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
As a focaccia bread this recipe was a disappointment. It was too thin and crunchy to be served along side soup or any other meal that you would like a soft bread to go with. This recipe would, however, be SUPERB for a flat bread pizza or cheesy flat bread or anything like that. If that's how it was advertised I would have given it 5 stars! Last note - if you make it as is I would suggest cutting the cayanne by at least half - with the amount as is it is quite strong and doesn't complement the meal but instead becomes a feature in and of itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
Pretty good if you don't have time for a yeast bread. I loved the topping combination (but only used a dusting of cayenne pepper. Next time I will add a little olive oil to the dough to give it a bit more tenderness and flavor. Given the ease of the recipe, it is bound to be a new spaghetti-night staple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
I've made this recipe several times now, and I love it! It always turns out with a crispy outer crust and soft and dense inside- which is to be expected with a no yeast recipe (people need to understand this beforehand- it is going to be dense!). I have never had any trouble with the ingredients ratio (the dough is meant to be wet do not add more flour) and have tried several variations including putting olives and feta cheese in the dough itself, all of which were just great. You really can do anything you want with this dough it is fun to experiment with! Personally I find it a little more dense than I'd like, but that is what this is supposed to be and it is so easy and fast to make it certainly deserves 5 stars. Definitely suggest trying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
I added rosemary and crushed red chili pepper flakes to the bread mix which really added flavor. After 20 minutes of baking, I pulled and added green and red bell pepper flakes with parmesan cheese and chopped shallot to the top with the drizzled olive oil and cooked for 10 more minutes. Eating now with butter and it is excellent. I think adding something to the bread dough gives some flavor after reading all the entries relaying poor taste. It's really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
This recipe is incredibly quick and easy, and tastes fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat Hurlbut

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
Thanks for this great recipe. I like that it doesn't have any fat! The first time I made it I followed all the instructions and it was really good. Second time I put in parmesan cheese, garlic powder, onion powder, fennel seeds, celery seeds, hot pepper flakes, basil and dried parsley in the dough. I think its better all mixed in with just a little paprika sprinkled on top. I like the way you can make it thick, thin, like crackers, or medium. The third time I added a cup of cornmeal and increased the water to 1 1/2cups, it makes a dryer bread. I think I'll try making a cookie version with cinnamon & Splenda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Made this with my elementary school boys - Quick and easy. Makes great garlic bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
The bread has no real flavor despite everything you put on top. It just doesn't taste good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Focaccia di Recco (Italian Flatbread)

See how to make an amazing cheese-filled Italian flatbread.

Focaccia Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy flatbread flavored with garlic and herbs.

How to Make Focaccia

See how to make a light Italian yeast bread with delightful dimples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States