Exquisite Yeastless Focaccia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
I turned the recipe into a cheese and onion garlic bread was devine xx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey Varley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Charis Alissa
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
This was great! A spot on recipe for people without yeast in the house. Added a few more spices than suggested, and it turned out delicious! 10/10 would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charis Alissa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Disappointing. The recipe called for a 9x13 pan. I used one that was smaller, but the dough still seemed too small. I liked the flavor (added in some herbs, etc.) but the texture was like bread jerky. It barely cut, and that was in an oven that actually runs a little slow. I thought it would be chewier, like the picture showed. If I make it again it's absolutely going in a smaller pan! Like a square.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Arlt Powers

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
This was such a surprise. Took 5 minutes to make by hand. I added rosemary to the dough, parmesan and cheddar to the top 5 minutes before it was done. The result was a tasty, slightly dense bread perfect for chilli, soup, pasta etc. Can't wait to experiment with other ingredients. I baked it in a cake tin and it rose a little and kept its shape. Am about to bake it plain for toast. Fab recipe - bread in 25 minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
I tried it almost exactly as written to use what I had on hand. I used cake and pastry flour (which usually makes my pancakes extra fluffy so I thought it would be great for this) and regular ol' "parmesan" off the shelf, not real parmesan. The dough was so sticky there was no point in kneading it on the counter. It blended perfectly well in a bowl with a spatula, and then straight to the baking pan. The bread itself turned out flatter (about 1/4 in.) and chewier than I expected, so more of a pizza crust-like texture than something I would use for a sandwich -- but perfect for dipping in soup. Also, the parmesan didn't stick to the top at all, which made it quite messy to eat. Overall delicious, and made the house smell AMAZING, but I think next time I will omit the cheese and sprinkle coarse salt, or use something more "melty". I might also use a smaller pan to ensure a smaller shape and therefore a thicker bread. It was also very very quick to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
Loved this recipe it was great when supplies are low. I don't usually keep things like yeast laying around in my pantry so for me to have all the ingredient was great. For all those who just have Italian seasoning in your pantry this recipe works fantastic with it. I also just used Veggie oil instead of olive oil and it tasted just as flavorful. This bread recipe is definitely something to keep around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
Typical italian flat bread recipe ! top it with a prepared spinach and mushrooms dip Thanks for sharing !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fran Roche Olsen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
Perfect. I made this according to the recipe, except to make it vegan, I omitted the cheese and used 1 Tbs of nutritional yeast for the cheesy flavour. I also added 2Tbs of flax seed meal for omega-3 content. Came out wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Lin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
Tried this tonight and paired it with a chicken stew I was struggling with. The bread was REALLY spicy. I think next time I'll either make it thicker or bake it for less time. Also, I added mozzarella cheese on top of the parm. Turned out okay. Will probably make again and play with it a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
If you're out of yeast you land here. My first batch was terrible, and heres why: While stirring the dry ingredients into the wet, I never got a dough that would pull away from the bowl, so I kept adding flour. Even while kneading it, I had to add flour. My dough got tough and the baking powder rise ended way too early. Dinner was a dry dog biscuit. On the next attempt,thanks to others comments esp. the daily gourmet, I got the dough into the oven right away without trying to make a dough ball or kneading. Just stir it, dump it, spread it, and bake it. It's very craggy but its great. Very crispy on the outside, very soft inside. I like basil dipping olive oil for the oil in the wet ingredients for flavor. There will be no slicing this bread, just break it off and eat it- in 1/2 hour. Dare me to stir in some crumbled sausage ? Thank you Julia, I've been wanting to make something good for years. In the end, we experimented, then we ate it, and now we'll release our dangerous selves on the world. (I wonder if my hard well water was the problem with the first batch ?)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Focaccia di Recco (Italian Flatbread)

See how to make an amazing cheese-filled Italian flatbread.

Focaccia Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy flatbread flavored with garlic and herbs.

How to Make Focaccia

See how to make a light Italian yeast bread with delightful dimples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States