Exquisite Yeastless Focaccia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 24, 2007
This recipe was pretty good, but there's one really important thing: a whole teaspoon of cayenne pepper is way too much. 1/4 tsp would have been much better. Also, it didn't rise as much as I thought it would, but that's probably just because it has no yeast. I will make this again, but I will have to experiment with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ithaca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 2tee
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
This was a pretty good recipe overall. I did make a few changes to the dough. Instead of using all white flour i used half white and half whole wheat, it came out delicious. As for topping my focaccia i added fresh ground pepper, rosemary, and carmalized onions. As it started to bake i could smell the rosemary aroma wafting in the room. When i removed the bread from the oven i let it sit for about 5 minutes, then cut into it. The edges where crispy, not like the normal kind of edges you'd get if you make the yeast kind focaccia,i also think it's partly because when i tried to make the focaccia fit the pan the edges where the thinnest part. The middle of the pan is nice and soft. Overall it's a good recipes, but i'll probably try the yeast kind and compare it later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2tee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waipahu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
excelent base and sooo easy! top it any way you want, I used finely choped green onion,thym, sage, oregano, garlic powder, basil, cayene, grated marble cheese and lots of rosemary. It came out perfect! It also makes a good pizza crust if you stretch it out over a large round pan, then top it with sauce, cheese and whatever your heart desires! I have made it both ways many times, with many variations, always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toaster

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
I love the spice mix! Definitely mix the spices together before you sprinkle them on for an even coating and flavor. Thanks for sharing I make this all the time!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
No one liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catglaw

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
The dough turned out crunchy instead of fluffy. I know I should have seen it coming because of the absence of yeast, but I was hopeful anyways. I wouldn't make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
it was as I expected, all in all. doesn't rise much, but no wonder; it's ok when you have little time but want focaccia anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Como, Lombardia, Italy
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
This was absolutely delicious! Even my four children loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
Very Good I would make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mistressbobbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Watertown, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
This was tasty. Not like traditional focaccia, but yummy all the same. I topped mine with carmalized onions, garlic, and feta cheese. It was not hard at all as other reviewers mentioned. Maybe they made it too thin? I followed recipe, and it did not cover the entire bottom of the pan. I could have made it in an 8x8 and filled it edge to edge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willow Grove, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Montrose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Focaccia di Recco (Italian Flatbread)

See how to make an amazing cheese-filled Italian flatbread.

Focaccia Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy flatbread flavored with garlic and herbs.

How to Make Focaccia

See how to make a light Italian yeast bread with delightful dimples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States