Exquisite Yeastless Focaccia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
Julia! This bread was heavenly!! So easy to make and my husband and I ate and ate it. It's so good with a dipping sauce. I can't wait to make it with my Mediterranean Spaghetti next week. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DianaLee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yuma, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
I used this as a basic flatbread recipe to go with chicken kebabs, altering the seasonings to go with that meal. I made the dough a little stiffer and patted it round, then baked it on a pizza stone. It came out quite good and is a good basis for many other uses. I used half white and half wheat flour. I may make this as a breakfast bread sometime, making it sweet and brushing with butter and topping it with a cinnamon/sugar mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
I was reluctant to try this recipe because of the mixed reviews, but I am So glad I did! I tripled the recipe because I have a family of 7 and this was going to be our main carb for dinner. I did a few other things differently which I believe effectively fixed the issue of the bread being too hard. This bread isn't going to be "soft" anyway you cook it. It's unleavened - so you shouldn't expect it to be fluffy. I didn't triple the cayenne pepper, added 1 tsp to the rest of the tripled ingredients. I cooked the parm in the bread and added crushed rosemary, oregano and onion powder. I coated my cookie sheet w/ olive oil and used my bbq brush to coat the top of the bread w/ olive oil as well. I cooked at 425 for 25 minutes and it was PERFECT!!! I will cook this AGAIN AND AGAIN AND AGAIN!! Oh - and I mixed, balsamic vinegar and EVOO w/ salt and pepper for dipping - DELISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
Very good and very easy. You can strip this down to the basics (no cheese, no basil etc.) and it's still good. I also add rosemary, other cheeses or whatever as I feel like. It always works.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Alpine, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
Great recipe! Didn't quite brown as I would have liked, added egg wash for last 5 mins. Otherwise Amazing. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
This is so good! I made the dough exactly as written- in a Kitchen Aid, with the dough hook. I spread the dough into a round 9 inch cake pan which gave me chewy, soft, evenly baked bread. This tasted way too good to be so simple. I added pepper and fresh rosemary, drizzled it with olive oil and dipped it in balsamic vinegar - yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
A solid recipe. Great for when you need to just whip up something crunchy to go with soup or a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
Fast bread, but not as tasty as Unyeasted Bread (this site) when baked plain (a little dry). Great for pizza or breadsticks, not meals that focus on bread. Didn't use cheese, garlic salt, or cayenne, and substituted spelt flour 1:1. Also, didn't use a food processor/blender. First, I sifted the dry ingredients plus an extra tsp salt thrice, then mixed in seasonings (1/2 tsp each of sage, basil, oregano, rosemary). I added 3 tsp lemon juice (for more rise) to the cup of water and stirred it in the mix until just blended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Akeakamai

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
Well, it was all gone, so everyone must have liked it! I used 1/3 whole wheat flour and replaced about 2 Tbs of water with olive oil to make the dough more tender. I did have to add a little extra flour and the dough was still sticky, so I used greased hands and it was easy to pat into the pan. I had increased the recipe to 1 1/2 times, so I used a cookie sheet. Not sure if I made it too thin, but it was more crispy than soft. I also baked it on convection and probably regular bake would make it softer. I used olive oil, salt, garlic powder and finely chopped green onion on top. No cayenne, though a little would be nice. My son wished I had used crushed garlic instead of powder and I agree. I will try it again and maybe add just a very light smear of tomato sauce also. I like the idea of carmelized onions too. I think there are some good possibilities with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
I thought it was pretty good! Although I added some chopped roasted red peppers to the dough and parmesan cheese for more flavor. Then on the top added more parmesan and some oregano. Came out super tasty!! But way too much cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michelle15

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berwyn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Focaccia di Recco (Italian Flatbread)

See how to make an amazing cheese-filled Italian flatbread.

Focaccia Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy flatbread flavored with garlic and herbs.

How to Make Focaccia

See how to make a light Italian yeast bread with delightful dimples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States